Sweet Soul Music : Rhythm and Blues and the Southern Dream of Freedom

Author: Peter Guralnick

Publication date: 1986

Harper & Row

Portraits of soul musicians. Chapter headings are;

  • Prologue To Soul: Sam Cooke, Ray Charles and the Business of Music
  • King Solomon: The Throne In Exile
  • Beginnings: Stax
  • Otis Redding
  • Stax: The Golden Years
  • Fame and Muscle Shoals
  • Papa's Got A Brand New Bag
  • The Soul Clan
  • The Other Side Of Memphis
  • Stax Goes To Europe/The Big O Comes Home: Triumph and Tragedy
  • Aretha Arrives
  • The Death Of The Dream
  • Epilogue: Time Has Brought About A Change
Also includes a selected discography and general bibliography.

Buy from amazon.com