tracks / musicians notes related releases


Various Artists

Initial release : 1970

Warner Brothers WB 1873

This sampler includes the Workingman's Dead version of New Speedway Boogie.

Tracks / Musicians

The tracks and performers on this compilation are;

  • Purple Haze - The Jimi Hendix Experience
  • Cinnamon Girl - Neil Young & the Crazy Horse
  • Suite for 20G - James Taylor
  • New Speedway Boogie - Grateful Dead
  • Rainbows All Over Your Blues - John Sebastian
  • Directly from My Heart (To You) - Mothers of Invention
  • Minstrel of the Dawn - Gordon Lightfoot
  • Creole Belle - Arlo Guthrie
  • Reasons for Waiting - Jethro Tull
  • Woodstock - Joni Mitchell
  • Around the Plynth - Small Faces
  • Happy Time - Tim Buckley
  • Neighbor Neighbor - Graham Bond
  • Into the Mystic - Van Morrison
New Speedway Boogie is taken from Workingman's Dead. The musicians involved are;
  • Jerry Garcia - lead guitar, pedal steel guitar, vocals
  • Mickey Hart - drums
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
  • Pigpen (Ron McKernan) - keyboards, vocals
  • Bob Weir - guitar, vocals

This sampler has a gatefold cover with notes about the various groups.

From the liner notes;

This is an album called Alternatives, the moniker our mammoth Title Department came up with after they were told to name an album of well-known, culturally significant and occasionally danceable non-hits of undeniable musical merit.
Related releases

New Speedway Boogie is taken from;

Buy from

album cover