tracks musicians

Before We Were Them

Jorma Kaukonen & Jack Casady

Initial release : 2020

Bear's Sonic Journals / Owsley Stanley Foundation

Live recordings from a show at the Veterans Auditorium in Santa Rosa on June 28, 1969. The bonus track is from a performance at the same venue on June 27, 1969. Jorma Kaukonen & Jack Casady started using the Hot Tuna name shortly after this date.


  • Rock Me Baby
  • Turnaround
  • Star Track
  • Through The Golden Gate
  • Come Back Baby
  • Through The Grove
  • Inspiration In The Hall Of Arrivals *
* Bonus track from June 27, 1969


  • Jorma Kaukonen - guitar, vocals
  • Jack Casady - bass
  • Joey Covington - drums

  • Producer, recording engineer Owsley Stanley
  • Mastering, tape archivist Jeffrey Norman
  • Recorded at the Family Dog On The Great Highway on May 29, 1970
Buy from

album cover

album cover