tracks musicians notes related releases

Bird's Can't Row Boats

Johnny Winter

Initial release : 1988

Relix 2034

Release of archive material recorded between 1965 and 1968.

Buy from

album cover


  • Don't Drink Whiskey (Winter)
  • Suicide Won't Satisfy (Winter)
  • Goin' Down Slow (Winter)
  • Blue Suede Shoes (Perkins)
  • I Wonder If I Care (Everly/Everly)
  • Easy Lovin' Girl (Collins)
  • Take My Choice (Johnson)
  • Coming Up Fast (Boynton/Russell/Winter)
  • Living In The Blues (Collins)
  • Birds Can't Row Boats (Winter)
  • Ice Cube (Winter)
  • Gone For Bad (Ames/Winter)
  • Tramp (Fulson/McCracklin)
  • The Mistress (Strzelecki)
  • Avocado Green (Leff)


  • Johnny Winter - guitar, vocals
  • Calvin Johnson - vocals
  • Isaac Payton - bass, vocals

The songs are from the following sources;

  • Don't Drink Whiskey - Studio recording from Feb 1967 in Pasadena, Texas
  • Suicide Won't Satisfy, Goin' Down Slow, Blue Suede Shoes, I Wonder If I Care - Studio recording from Jan 1968 in Houston
  • Easy Lovin' Girl - Studio recording from Jan 1967 in Pasadena
  • Take My Choice, Living In The Blues, Birds Can't Row Boats - Studio recording from 1967 in Houston
  • Coming Up Fast - Studio recording from 1967 in Pasadena
  • Ice Cube - Studio recording from Beaumont, Texas in 1959
  • Gone For Bad - Studio recording from 1965 in Beaumont Texas
  • Tramp - released as a single by The Traits
  • The Mistress - unknown
  • Avocado Green - Studio recording from Nov 1966 in Pasadena
Related releases

Goin' Down Slow was included on;

Goin' Down Slow was included on;