tracks/musicians notes related releases

The Cities Sampler, Vol. 3: Songs For The Earth

Various Artists

Initial release : 1991

97.1 FM KTCZ

This benefit compilation of tracks includes Blues From The Rainforest, from the Merl Saunders album of the same name, with Jerry Garcia on guitar.

Buy from

album cover

Tracks / musicians

  • We Work The Black Seam - Sting
  • Blues From The Rainforest - Merl Saunders
  • The Road to Hell - Chris Rea
  • Silver Linings - Nils Lofgren
  • A Hard Rain's A Gonna' Fall - Edie Brickell & New Bohemians
  • The River Trail - Hoopsnakes
  • Poison in the Well - 10,000 Maniacs
  • Giving It All Away - Hothouse Flowers
  • Styrofoam - Ann Reed
  • Here Goes Tomorrow - Vinnie James
  • The Trees Are All Gone - Roger McGuinn
  • Antarctica - Midnight Oil
  • Yosemite - David Arkenstone
The musicians on Blues From The Rainforest are;
  • Merl Saunders - synthesizers
  • Jerry Garcia - electric guitar
  • Muruga - percussion

The Cities Samplers are limited release samplers from the Twin Cities area of Minnesota. They are only sold to Target stores in a limited quantity to benefit locale charities.

Related releases

Blues From The Rainforest was originally released on;