tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Costello and Nieve

Elvis Costello and Steve Nieve

Initial release : December 1996

Warner Brothers 46469

Box set of EPs recorded during live Costello and Nieve sets during 1996. Includes a version of the Garcia/Hunter song Ship Of Fools.


Disc 1

  • Temptation (Costello)
  • Poor Fractured Atlas (Costello)
  • I Just Don't Know What to Do with Myself (Bacharach/David)
  • It's Time (Costello)
  • Man out of Time/Shallow Grave (Costello/McCartney)
Disc 2
  • Just About Glad (Costello)
  • Why Can't a Man Stand Alone? (Costello)
  • My Dark Life (Costello)
  • All This Useless Beauty (Costello)
  • Ship of Fools (Garcia/Hunter)
Disc 3
  • The Long Honeymoon (Costello)
  • Starting to Come to Me (Costello)
  • The Other End (Of the Telescope) (Costello/Mann)
  • All the Rage (Costello)
  • Watching the Detectives (Costello)
Disc 4
  • You Bowed Down (Costello)
  • The Long Honeymoon (Costello)
  • Distorted Angel (Costello)
  • Angels Want to Wear My Red Shoes (Costello)
  • Little Atoms (Costello)
  • My Funny Valentine (Hart/Rodgers)
Disc 5
  • Black Sails in the Sunset (Costello)
  • You'll Never Be a Man (Costello)
  • Just a Memory (Costello)
  • I Want to Vanish (Costello)
  • Alison / Living A Little, Laughing A Little / Tracks Of My Tears / Tears Of A Clown / No More Tearstained Make-Up / Clowntime Is Over (Bell/Cosby/Creed/Moore/Robinson/Tarplin/Wonder)

  • Elvis Costello - guitar, vocals
  • Steve Nieve - piano
  • Pete Thomas - drums

  • Digital Mastering - Pat Kraus

Each of the CDs contains music recorded live at a specific show;

  • Disc one at the Troubadour, LA
  • Disc two at the Fillmore, SF
  • Disc three at Park West, Chicago
  • Disc four at the Paradise, Boston
  • Disc five at the Supper Club, NY
The Fillmore set was recorded live on May 15, 1996.

Related releases

Another version of Ship Of Fools performed by Elvis Costello is included on;

  • Deadicated, Various Artists, 1991, Arista ARCD 8669
The single CD that includes Ship Of Fools was released prior to the release of this box set as a single CD promo; The other single CDs were also released individually as promotional CDs;
  • Live At The Troubadour, Los Angeles, Elvis Costello and Steve Nieve, 1996
  • Live At The Paradise, Boston, Elvis Costello and Steve Nieve, 1996
  • Live At The Supper Club, New York, Elvis Costello and Steve Nieve, 1996
  • Live At The Park West, Chicago, Elvis Costello and Steve Nieve, 1996
Buy from

album cover