tracks musicians credits related releases

Dark Star / Born Cross-Eyed promotional single

Grateful Dead

Initial release : April 1968

Warner Brothers 7186

Promotional 7" single released in conjunction with the commercial single and the Anthem Of The Sun LP.


  • Dark Star (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Born Cross-Eyed (Grateful Dead)

  • Tom Constanten - keyboards
  • Jerry Garcia - guitar, vocals
  • Mickey Hart - drums, percussion
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums, percussion
  • Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
  • Pigpen (Ron McKernan) - organ, percussion, vocals
  • Bob Weir - guitar, vocals
  • Robert Hunter - voice (at end of Dark Star)

  • Producer - Grateful Dead, Dave Hassinger
  • Arranger - Grateful Dead
  • Engineers - Dan Healy, Bob Matthews, Betty Cantor
Related releases

The single version of Dark Star is completely different to the album version. It was recorded during the Anthem Of The Sun studio recording sessions.

A green label commercial version of the single was released:

A vinyl replica 7" single was released in 2017; The version of Born Cross-Eyed is a different mix of the version that was released on;
album cover

album cover