tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Dick's Picks, Volume One

Grateful Dead

Initial release : December 1993

Grateful Dead Records GDCD-4018

The first of the vault releases selected by and named in honor of tape archivist Dick Latvala. A two CD set from the December 19, 1973 show in Tampa.


Disc 1

  • Here Comes Sunshine (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Big River (Cash)
  • Mississippi Half Step (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Weather Report Suite (Andersen / Weir / Barlow)
  • Big Railroad Blues (Lewis)
  • Playing In The Band (Weir / Hart / Hunter)
Disc 2
  • He's Gone (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Truckin' (Garcia / Weir / Lesh / Hunter)
  • Nobody's Fault But Mine (Johnson)
  • Jam (Garcia / Godchaux / Kreutzmann / Lesh / Weir)
  • Other One (Weir / Kreutzmann)
  • Jam (Garcia / Godchaux / Kreutzmann / Lesh / Weir)
  • Stella Blue (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Around And Around (Berry)

  • Jerry Garcia - lead guitar, vocals
  • Keith Godchaux - keyboards
  • Donna Jean Godchaux - giving birth
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
  • Bob Weir - guitar, vocals

  • Produced and Recorded by - Kidd Candelario
  • Tape Archivist - Dick Latvala
  • Special thanks to - NAGRA, Jeff Briss
  • Photography - Bruce Polonsky
  • Design - Gecko Graphics

  • Recorded Live: December 19, 1973 at the Curtis Hixon Convention Center, Tampa, FL

The rear cover of the CD carries the following message.

Caveat Emptor:

The recording herein has been lovingly remastered directly from the original two-track master tape and is therefore not immune to the various glitches, splices, reel changes and other aural gremlins contained on said original. Dick's Picks differs from our From The Vault series in that we simply did not have access to complete shows (nor the modern mixing capabilities afforded by multitrack tapes) But we think the historical value and musical quality of these tapes more than compensates for any technical anomalies... In other words what you hear is what you get. And what you get ain't bad!
Related releases

Dick's Picks 1 was made available as a download from Grateful Dead Productions in November, 2005

Dick's Picks 1 was released for the regular retail market by Real Gone Music in May 2016.

Dick's Picks 1 was released on vinyl by Brookvale Records in a limited edition of 2000 copies in 2012.

Here Comes Sunshine from Dick's Picks 1 was included on the promotional sampler;

For information about other releases that include music from this period see the 1973 and 1974 sections of the Dead by Date page.

Dick's Picks is a series of archive releases. For a complete list of releases in the series see the Dick's Picks page.

Buy from

Buy Real Gone Music edition

Front cover
album cover

Inside front cover
album cover

Rear cover
album cover

Inside rear cover
album cover

CD 1
album cover

CD 2
album cover