tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Dick's Picks, Volume 28

Grateful Dead

Initial release : April 2003

Grateful Dead Records

Four CD set of music from Lincoln NE on February 26, 1973 and Salt Lake City, UT on February 28, 1973.


Lincoln, February 26, 1973

Disc 1

  • Promised Land (Berry)
  • Loser (Hunter / Garcia)
  • Jack Straw (Weir / Hunter)
  • Don't Ease Me In (Traditional arr. Grateful Dead)
  • Look Like Rain (Weir / Barlow)
  • Loose Lucy (Hunter / Garcia)
  • Beer Barrel Polka (Zeman / Vejvoda / Timm / Brown)
  • Big Railroad Blues (Lewis arr. Grateful Dead)
  • Playing In The Band (Weir / Hart / Hunter)
  • They Love Each Other ( Hunter / Garcia)
  • Big River (Cash)
  • Tennessee Jed (Hunter / Garcia)
Disc 2
  • Greatest Story Ever Told (Weir / Hart / Hunter)
  • Dark Star (Garcia / Hart / Kreutzmann / Lesh / McKernan / Weir / Hunter)
  • Eyes Of The World (Hunter / Garcia)
  • Mississippi Half Step (Hunter / Garcia)
  • Me and My Uncle (Phillips)
  • Not Fade Away (Petty / Hardin)
  • Goin' Down The Road Feeling Bad (Traditional arr. Grateful Dead)
  • Not Fade Away (Petty / Hardin)
Salt Lake City, February 28, 1973

Disc 3

  • Cold Rain and Snow (Grateful Dead)
  • Beat It On Down The Line (Fuller)
  • They Love Each Other (Hunter / Garcia)
  • Mexicali Blues (Weir / Barlow)
  • Sugaree (Hunter / Garcia)
  • Box of Rain (Lesh / Hunter)
  • El Paso (Robbins)
  • He's Gone (Hunter / Garcia)
  • Jack Straw (Weir / Hunter)
  • China Cat Sunflower (Hunter / Garcia)
  • I Know You Rider (Trad. Arr. by Grateful Dead)
  • Big River (Cash)
Disc 4
  • Row Jimmy (Garcia/Hunter)
  • Truckin' (Garcia / Lesh / Weir / Hunter)
  • The Other One (Weir / Kreutzmann)
  • Eyes Of The World (Hunter / Garcia)
  • Morning Dew (Dobson / Rose)
  • Sugar Magnolia (Weir / Hunter)
  • And We Bid You Goodnight (Traditional arr. Grateful Dead)

  • Jerry Garcia - lead guitar, vocals
  • Donna Jean Godchaux - vocals
  • Keith Godchaux - piano
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
  • Bob Weir - rhythm guitar, vocals
  • Pigpen (In Spirit)

  • Recording - Bill Candelario
  • CD mastering - Jeffrey Norman
  • Tape archivists - David Lemieux
  • Archival research - Eileen Law/Grateful Dead Archives
  • Cover art, package design - Robert Minkin
  • Photography - Brad Temkin, Rich Weiner,, Ron Sullivan
  • Deadhead newsletter design - Mary Ann Mayer

  • Recorded at Lincoln NE on February 26, 1973 and Salt Lake City, UT on February 28, 1973

The rear cover of Dick's Picks, Vol. 28 carries the following message;

Caveat EmptorDick's Picks Volume 28 was mastered directly from the original analog 2 track tapes, running at 7.5 ips. Although these 30 year old tapes have held up remarkably well, they may exhibit some very minor effects of the ravages of time. However we've done all we can to ensure your listening pleasure.
The rear cover of Dick's Picks, Vol. 1 carried a message briefly explaining the reason for the Dick's Picks series;
Dick's Picks differs from our From The Vault series in that we simply did not have access to complete shows (nor the modern mixing capabilities afforded by multitrack tapes) But we think the historical value and musical quality of these tapes more than compensates for any technical anomalies... In other words what you hear is what you get. And what you get ain't bad!
Related releases

Dick's Picks 28 was made available as a download from Grateful Dead Productions in November, 2005

Dick's Picks 28 was released for the regular retail market by Real Gone Music in 2012.

For information about other releases that include music from this period see the 1973 section of the Dead by Date page.

Dick's Picks is a series of archive releases. For a complete list of releases in the series see the Dick's Picks page.

Buy original release

Buy Real Gone Music release

album cover