tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Dick's Picks, Volume Thirty Two

Grateful Dead

Initial release : July 2004

Grateful Dead Records

Two CD set of music taken from the August 7, 1982 show at Alpine Valley, East Troy, WI.


Disc 1

  • The Music Never Stopped (Weir / Barlow)
  • Sugaree (Garcia / Hunter)
  • The Music Never Stopped (Weir / Barlow)
  • Me And My Uncle (Phillips)
  • Big River (Cash)
  • It Must Have Been The Roses (Hunter)
  • C.C. Rider (Traditional arr. Grateful Dead)
  • Ramble On Rose (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Beat It On Down The Line (Fuller)
  • On The Road Again (Traditional arr. Grateful Dead)
  • Althea (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Let It Grow (Weir / Barlow)
  • U.S. Blues (Garcia / Hunter)
Disc 2
  • China Cat Sunflower (Garcia / Hunter)
  • I Know You Rider (Traditional arr. Grateful Dead)
  • Man Smart / Woman Smarter (Span)
  • Ship Of Fools (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Playing In The Band (Weir / Hart / Hunter)
  • Drums (Hart / Kreutzmann)
  • Space (Garcia / Lesh / Weir)
  • The Wheel (Garcia / Kreutzmann / Hunter)
  • Playing In The Band (Weir / Hart / Hunter)
  • Morning Dew (Dobson / Rose)
  • One More Saturday Night (Weir)

  • Jerry Garcia - lead guitar, vocals
  • Mickey Hart - drums
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
  • Brent Mydland - keyboards, vocals
  • Bob Weir - rhythm guitar, vocals

  • Recording engineer - Dan Healy
  • CD mastering - Jeffrey Norman
  • Tape archivist - David Lemieux
  • Archival research - Eileen Law / Grateful Dead Archives
  • Photography - Robert Minkin, Bill Turley
  • Cover art, package design - Robert Minkin
  • Recorded live on August 7, 1982 show at Alpine Valley, East Troy, WI

The rear cover of Dick's Picks, Vol. 1 carried a message briefly explaining the reason for the Dick's Picks series;

Dick's Picks differs from our From The Vault series in that we simply did not have access to complete shows (nor the modern mixing capabilities afforded by multitrack tapes) But we think the historical value and musical quality of these tapes more than compensates for any technical anomalies... In other words what you hear is what you get. And what you get ain't bad!
Related releases

Dick's Picks 32 was made available as a download from Grateful Dead Productions in November, 2005

Dick's Picks 32 was released for the regular retail market by Real Gone Music in 2012.

For information about other releases that include music from this period see the 1982 section of the Dead by Date page.

Dick's Picks is a series of archive releases. For a complete list of releases in the series see the Dick's Picks page.

Buy original release

Buy Real Gone Music release

album cover

album cover