tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Dick's Picks, Volume Thirty Four

Grateful Dead

Initial release : February 2005

Grateful Dead Records

A 3 CD set of music comprising the whole November 5, 1977 show at the Community War Memorial in Rochester, NY plus bonus tracks from the November 2, 1977 show at Seneca College Field House in Toronto, Ontario.


Disc 1 (11/5/77)

  • New Minglewood Blues (Traditional arr. Bob Weir)
  • Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodeloo (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Looks Like Rain (Weir / Barlow)
  • Dire Wolf (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Mama Tried (Haggard)
  • Big River (Cash)
  • Candyman (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Jack Straw (Weir / Hunter)
  • Deal (Garcia / Hunter)
Disc 2 (11/5/77)
  • Phil Solo (Lesh)
  • Take A Step Back (Grateful Dead)
  • Eyes Of The World (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Samson and Delilah (Traditional arr. Bob Weir)
  • It Must Have Been The Roses (Hunter)

    Bonus Tracks: 11/2/77 Seneca College Field House, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

  • Might As Well (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Estimated Prophet > (Weir / Barlow)
  • St. Stephen > (Garcia / Lesh / Hunter)
  • Truckin' > (Garcia / Lesh / Weir / Hunter)
  • Around and Around (Berry)
Disc 3 (11/5/77)
  • Estimated Prophet (Weir / Barlow)
  • He's Gone (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Rhythm Devils (Hart / Kreutzmann)
  • The Other One (Weir / Kreutzmann)
  • Black Peter (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Sugar Magnolia (Weir / Hunter)
  • One More Saturday Night (Weir)

    Bonus Tracks: 11/2/77 Seneca College Field House, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

  • Lazy Lightning (Weir / Barlow)
  • Supplication (Weir / Barlow)

  • Jerry Garcia - lead guitar, vocals
  • Donna Jean Godchaux - vocals
  • Keith Godchaux - keyboards
  • Mickey Hart - drums
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
  • Bob Weir - rhythm guitar, vocals

  • Recording - Betty Cantor-Jackson
  • Tape archivist - David Lemieux
  • CD mastering - Jeffrey Norman
  • Archival research - Eileen Law/Grateful Dead Archives
  • Photography - Jim Anderson, Robert Minkin, Brian Walski
  • Cover art, package design - Robert Minkin
  • Recorded live on November 5, 1977 at the Community War Memorial in Rochester, NY
  • Bonus tracks recorded live on November 2, 1977 at Seneca College Field House in Toronto, Ontario

The rear cover of Dick's Picks, Vol. 1 carried a message briefly explaining the reason for the Dick's Picks series;

Dick's Picks differs from our From The Vault series in that we simply did not have access to complete shows (nor the modern mixing capabilities afforded by multitrack tapes) But we think the historical value and musical quality of these tapes more than compensates for any technical anomalies... In other words what you hear is what you get. And what you get ain't bad!
Related releases

Dick's Picks 34 was made available as a download from Grateful Dead Productions in November, 2005

Dick's Picks 34 was released for the regular retail market by Real Gone Music in 2011.

For information about other releases that include music from this period see the 1977 section of the Dead by Date page.

Dick's Picks is a series of archive releases. For a complete list of releases in the series see the Dick's Picks page.

Buy original release

Buy Real Gone Music release

album cover