tracks musicians related releases

Encore Encore

Fairport Convention

Initial release : 1979 (2000 on Relix)

(Relix 2106)

Relix CD reissue of the LP that was originally released in 1979 as Farewell, Farewell. The CD reissue has additional tracks.

Buy from

album cover


  • Matty Groves/High Road To Linton (Traditional)
  • Orange Blossom Special (Rouse)
  • John Lee (Swarbrick)
  • Bridge Over The River Ash (Traditional)
  • Sir Patrick Spens (Traditional)
  • Mr. Lacey (Hutchings)
  • Walk Awhile (Swarbrick/Thompson)
  • The Bonny Black Hare (Traditional)
  • The Journeyman's Grace (Swarbrick/Thompson)
  • Meet on the Ledge (Thompson)
  • Rubber Band (Waterson/Waterson/Waterson/Waterson) *
  • Hen's March Through The Midden (Traditional) *
  • Flatback Caper (Traditional) *
  • Dirty Linen (Traditional) *
* Additional tracks on CD release


  • Simon Nicol - guitar, vocals
  • Dave Swarbrick - mandolin, fiddle, vocals
  • Dave Pegg - bass, vocals
  • Bruce Rowlands - drums
Related releases

The first 10 tracks on this CD were originally released on what was at the time thought to be Fairport's farewell album;

  • Farewell, Farewell, Fairport Convention, 1979
The album was remastered and released on CD in 1997 with the addition of a track that had been released as a single, Rubber Band, and three live tracks; Hens March/Four Poster Bed, Flatback Caper and Dirty Linen. The rerelease was retitled as the album turned out not to be a farewell album;
  • Encore, Encore, Fairport Convention, 1997
The Relix release is a reissue of this CD release.