tracks musicians credits related releases

The End Of The Innocence

Don Henley

Initial release : June 1989

Geffen 2-24217

Bruce Hornsby co-wrote, co-produced and plays on one song on this album.

Buy from

album cover


  • The End Of The Innocence (Henley/Hornsby)
  • How Bad Do You Want It? (Henley/Kortchmar/Lynch)
  • I Will Not Go Quietly (Henley/Kortchmar)
  • The Last Worthless Evening (Corey/Henley/Lynch)
  • New York Minute (Henley/Kortchmar/Winding)
  • Shangri-La (Henley/Jordan/Kortchmar)
  • Little Tin God (Henley/Kortchmar/Souther)
  • Gimme What You Got (Corey/Henley/Lynch)
  • If Dirt Were Dollars (Henley/Kortchmar/Souther)
  • The Heart Of The Matter (Campbell/Henley/Souther)

Bruce Hornsby plays on The End Of The Innocence with the following musicians;

  • Don Henley
  • Bruce Hornsby - piano, additional keyboards
  • Jai Winding - keyboard bass
  • Michael Fisher - percussion
  • Wayne Shorter - soprano saxophone
The musicians on the recording are;
  • Don Henley
  • Mike Campbell - guitar, keyboards
  • John Corey - guitar, keyboards
  • Michael Fisher - percussion
  • Bob Glaub - bass
  • Bruce Hornsby - piano, additional keyboards
  • Steve Jordan - drums, guitar, background vocals
  • Jim Keltner - percussion
  • Larry Klein - bass
  • Danny Kortchmar - guitar, keyboards
  • Stan Lynch - drums, percussion
  • Steve Madaio - trumpet
  • David Paich - piano, strings, keyboards
  • Pino Palladino - bass
  • Jeff Porcaro - drums
  • Wayne Shorter - soprano saxophone
  • Waddy Wachtel - guitar
  • Jai Winding - keyboard bass, keyboards
  • Edie Brickell, Valerie Carter, Sheryl Crow, Charlie Drayden, Melissa Etheridge, Ivan Neville, Axl Rose, Patty Smyth, J.D. Souther, Take 6, Carmen Twillie, Julia Waters, Maxine Waters

  • Producer - Don Henley, Danny Kortchmar except....
  • The End Of The Innocence producer - Don Henley, Bruce Hornsby
  • The Last Worthless Evening and Gimme What You Got producer - John Corey, Don Henley and Stan Lynch
  • The Heart Of The Matter producer - Mike Campbell, Don Henley, Danny Kortchmar
  • Mixing - Shelly Yakus, Rob Jacobs
  • Engineer - Shelly Yakus
  • Assistant Engineer - Brian Scheuble
  • Additional engineers - Brian Scheuble, Rob Jacobs, Mark McKenna, Bob Vogt, Marc Desisto, Eddie King
  • Additional assistants - Tom Banghart, Ed Goodreau, Randall Wine, Randy Staub, Greg Goldman
  • Mixing assistant - Robert "R.J."Jaczko
  • A&M Tech Squad - Mike Morengell, Jonathan Little, Gary Myerberg, Dale Asamoto, Fred Bova, Steve Barncard, Gary Mannon, Mark Opie, Lars Lyons, Bob Borbonus
  • Mastering - Stephen Marcussen
  • Art Direction - Jeri Heiden
  • Photography - Alberto Tolot, Ken Nahoum, Stephen Danelian
Related releases

One single was released in conjunction with this album;

  • The End Of The Innocence / If Dirt Were Dollars, Don Henley, 1989
The End Of The Innocence was included on the compilation album;