The Essential Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal

Initial release : 2005


A compilation of recordings made between 1967 and 1999 for the Columbia, Warner Brothers, Gramavision Private Music, and Hannibal labels. Merl Saunders plays on at least one tracks of this release.


  • Leaving Trunk (Estes)
  • Statesboro Blues (McTell)
  • The Celebrated Walkin' Blues (Mahal)
  • She Caught the Katy (And Left Me a Mule to Ride) (Mahal / Rachell)
  • Corinna (Davis / Mahal)
  • Going Up to the Country / Paint My Mailbox Blue (Mahal)
  • Take a Giant Step (Goffin / King)
  • Six Days on the Road (Green / Montgomery)
  • Country Blues #1 (Davis / Mahal)
  • Fishin' Blues (Thomas)
  • Ain't Gwine Whistle Dixie (Anymo') (Blackwell / Davis / Gilmore / Mahal)
  • You're Gonna Need Somebody on Your Bond (Johnson)
  • Happy to Be Just Like I Am (Mahal)
  • West Indian Revelation (Mahal)
  • Texas Woman Blues (Mahal)
  • Cakewalk into Town (Mahal)
  • Frankie & Albert (Hurt)
  • Railroad Bill (Work)
  • Johnny Too Bad (Bailey / Beckford / Crooks / Wilson)
  • Slave Driver (Marley)
  • (Clara) St. Kitts Woman (Mahal)
  • When I Feel the Sea Beneath My Soul (Mahal)
  • Satisfied 'N' Tickled Too (Mahal)
  • Love Theme in the Key of D (Mahal)
  • Everybody Is Somebody (Bailey)
  • Crossing (Hughes / Mahal)
  • Don't Call Us (Feldman / Mahal)
  • Big Legged Mommas Are Back in Style (Mahal)
  • That's How Strong My Love Is (Jamison)
  • Here in the Dark (Anderson)
  • Lovin' in My Baby's Eyes (Mahal)
  • Seņor Blues (Silver)
  • The New Hula Blues (Mahal)
  • Queen Bee (Mahal)
  • Cruisin' (Braunagel / Mahal / Schell)
  • John Henry (Traditional)
Buy from

album cover