tracks / musicians related releases

Freedom: A History of Us

Various Artists

Initial release : 2002


This single CD collection, a distillation of a 3 CD box set released in association with PBS series Freedom: A History Of Us, includes the Garcia/Grisman track Shenandoah Lullaby. Also includes tracks by Bob Dylan and Sly & The Family Stone.

Tracks / Musicians

The tracks and performers on this compilation are as follows;

  • I Wish I Knew (How It Would Feel to Be Free) - Nina Simone
  • The Battle Hymn of the Republic - Washington Men's Camarata
  • This Land Is Your Land - Woody Guthrie
  • Because All Men Are Brothers - Peter, Paul & Mary
  • The Star Spangled Banner - Duke Ellington & His Orchestra
  • Oh Freedom - Boys Choir Of Harlem
  • People Get Ready - Impressions
  • This Little Light of Mine - Freedom Singers
  • Chimes of Freedom - Bruce Springsteen
  • The Times They Are A-Changin' - Bob Dylan
  • Shenandoah Lullabye - Jerry Garcia and David Grisman
  • If I Had a Hammer - Pete Seeger
  • America the Beautiful - Keb' Mo'
  • We Shall Overcome - Mahalia Jackson
  • Hard Times - James Taylor
  • Stand! - Sly & the Family Stone
  • America - Chita Rivera, Marilyn Cooper and Reri Grist
  • Fanfare for the Common Man - London Symphony Orchestra
Buy from

album cover

Related releases

Shenandoah Lullaby is taken from;

The Times They Are A-Changin' was originally released on; Stand! Was originally released on an album and a single;
  • Stand!, Sly & the Family Stone, 1969
  • Stand! / I Want to Take You Higher, Sly & The Family Stone, 1969, Epic 10450
The music on this single CD release was also released as part of a 3 CD set;