tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Garcia / Grisman

Jerry Garcia and David Grisman

Initial release : 1991

Acoustic Disc ACD 2

The first of a series of Garcia/Grisman albums on David Grisman's Acoustic Disc label. This release includes covers of songs from a wide range of American music plus a version of Friend of the Devil and a new Garcia/Grisman composition. A Hi-Def download edition was released by Acoustic Disc in 2012.


  • Thrill Is Gone (Darnell / Hawkins)
  • Grateful Dawg (Jerry Garcia / David Grisman)
  • Two Soldiers (Traditional arr. Garcia / Grisman)
  • Friend of the Devil (John Dawson / Jerry Garcia / Robert Hunter)
  • Russian Lullaby (Irving Berlin)
  • Dawg's Waltz (David Grisman)
  • Walkin' Boss (Traditional arr. Garcia / Grisman)
  • Rockin' Chair (Hoagy Carmichael)
  • Arabia (David Grisman / Traditional)

  • Jerry Garcia - guitar, vocals
  • David Grisman - mandolin
  • Joe Craven - fiddle, percussion
  • James Kerwin - bass

  • Producers - Jerry Garcia and David Grisman
  • Mixing - Jerry Garcia and David Grisman with Decibel Dave
  • Engineer - David Dennison
  • Assistant Producer - Craig Miller
  • Mastering - Paul Stubblebine
  • Cover Design - David Grisman, Django Bayless
  • Photography - Gary Nichols
  • Recorded at Dawg Studios, Spring 1991

A section of Arabia is based on the traditional Cuban folk song Hasta Siempre.

Grisman recalled in an interview how the Garcia and Grisman performances and recordings in the 1990s came about:

Jerry came over to my house one day, checked out my home studio, and asked me, 'How about putting out some more Old and In The Way tapes?' I said, 'Frankly Jerry, I'd rather see us put out something new, we can put out old tapes when we're in wheelchairs.
As well as being artistically successful the Garcia and Grisman partnership also gave Grisman the finances needed to continue his Acoustic Disc record label. As Grisman noted in another inteview, "Jerry kind of takes care of the profitable part."

The first Garcia / Grisman album was nominated for a Grammy and sold more than 100,000 copies.

The first live Garcia / Grisman performance was in December 1990.

Related releases

An HD quality version of the Garcia / Grisman album was released as part of the Acoustic Disc Hi-Def Master series in 2012.

The Garcia / Grisman album was released as an Ultra Analog 180g double LP and as an Stereo Hybrid SACD by Mobile Fidelity in 2014.

Walkin' Boss and Grateful Dawg are included on the Acoustic Disc sampler;

Grateful Dawg is included on the compilation CD; In 2022 David Grisman and Danny Barnes recorded a podcast in which they discussed and played tracks from the Garcia/Grisman album. This podcast was subsequently made available as a download:
Buy from Acoustic Disc
Buy from

album cover
Original front cover

album cover
Booklet rear cover

album cover
Mobile Fidelity cover

album cover
Hi-Def front cover

album cover
Hi-Def rear cover