tracks / musicians notes

Huckleberry Jam

Various Artists

Initial release : 1997


A benefit compilation that includes a live Grateful Dead performance of Bertha from 1971. Also includes a track by Big Brother And The Holding Company.

Tracks / Musicians

The tracks and performers on this compilation are;

  • So Much To Say - Dave Matthews Band
  • Mr. Mastadon Farm - Cake
  • Second Chance - Creeper Lagoon
  • Down On Me - Big Brother & The Holding Company w/ Janis Joplin
  • Love Sneakin' Up On You - Bonnie Raitt
  • Speaking Confidentially - Cowboy Junkies
  • String of Pearls - Soul Asylum
  • Uncool (Country Bumpkin Mix) - The Meices
  • Time and Time Again - Counting Crows
  • Love To Be Loved - Peter Gabriel
  • Home - Sarah McLachlan
  • Wornell's Yorkies - Charlie Hunter Quartet
  • Where Am I Gonna Run To? - Ryan Downe
  • Here I Am - Billy Pilgrim
  • I'll Go On - The Robert Cray Band
  • Bertha - Grateful Dead

Bertha was recorded live on August 14, 1971 at the Berkeley Community Theater.

This CD was a limited edition (20,000) benefit CD produced by and in aid of the Huckleberry House. Huckleberry House opened in the late 1960s and was the first shelter for runaway youth in the US. Proceeds from the sale of the CD benefit the Huckleberry Youth Programs 24 hour crisis services for homeless, runaway, and other at risk youth in the Bay Area.

This CD was only available in the Bay Area and from the Huckleberry House web site.

album cover