tracks musicians credits notes reissues related releases


Robert Hunter

Initial release : March 1988

Relix Records 2029

Robert Hunter album recorded by a group that included Garcia. Includes the song Liberty which reappeared in Grateful Dead shows in the mid 1990s.

Buy from

album cover


  • Liberty (Hunter)
  • Cry Down the Years (Hunter)
  • Bone Alley (Hunter)
  • Black Shamrock (Hunter)
  • The Song Goes On (Hunter)
  • Do Deny (Hunter)
  • Worried Song (Hunter)
  • Come And Get It (Hunter)
  • When A Man Loves A Woman (Hunter)

  • Robert Hunter - guitar, vocals
  • Jerry Garcia - guitar
  • David Mann - drums
  • Rick Meyers - piano, Roland S50 sound sampler, vocals
  • Michael White - bass

  • Producer - Robert Hunter
  • Engineer, co-arranger - Rick Meyers
  • Mixing, vocal production - Tom Flyte
  • Second engineer - Tom Size
  • Mastering - George Horn
  • Cover art - Maureen Hunter
  • Layout - Brooklyn Bridge Publications

  • Recorded at Marin Sound, San Rafael
  • Mastered at Fantasy Studios, Berkeley

The vocals were re-recorded in 1988 for the rerelease of the LP in 1989.

Hunter has said that three of the songs on this album; Liberty, Bone Alley and Black Shamrock, were originally written for the Grateful Dead for possible inclusion on In The Dark. Subsequently only Liberty was performed by the Dead.


Reissued in 1989 in a revamped edition on CD by Rykodisk RCD 10115

Reissued in May 1989 in a revamped edition on LP and CD by Grateful Dead Records (GDCD 4010)

Related releases

A promotional single featuring tracks from this album was released;

  • Liberty / Bone Alley / Do Deny, Robert Hunter, 1988, Relix RRCD 2029 S
Bone Alley was included on;