tracks musicians credits

Livin' The Life

Chris and Lorin Rowan

Initial release : 1980

Appaloosa 011

An album of unreleased studio recordings from 1972. Some tracks feature Jerry Garcia and Bill Kreutzmann. The music was produced by David Grisman who also plays on some tracks. It was originally thought that this LP was a reissue of the Rowan Brothers 1972 self titled LP but this is not the case. (Thanks to Simon Robinson for the information about this LP)


Side one:

  • Livin' The Life (Chris Rowan)
  • Climbing Up The Mountain (Lorin Rowan)
  • Waiting In The Garden (Chris & Lorin Rowan)
  • Outside, Clover And Cheese (Lorin Rowan)
  • Peace And Happiness (Jungle Queen) (Chris Rowan)
Side two:
  • Guardian Angel (They Were There) (Lorin Rowan)
  • Heavens To Betsy (Chris Rowan)
  • Feel The Spirit (Lorin Rowan)
  • Free (Chris & Lorin Rowan)
  • Run To The Wind (Chris & Lorin Rowan)
  • Don't You Worry (Chris Rowan)

  • Chris Rowan - electric guitar, acoustic guitar, piano
  • Lorin Rowan - electric guitar, acoustic guitar, piano
  • David Grisman - mandolin, piano, organ
  • Billy Wolf - bass
  • Jerry Garcia - pedal steel guitar
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Bill Elliott - piano
  • Gregg Dewey - drums (on Livin' The Life)
  • Violin arrangements - Ed Bogus

  • Producer - David Grisman with Chris & Lorin Rowan
  • Executive producer - Franco Ratti
  • Engineer - Billy Wolf
  • Editing and assemblage - Rick Sanchez, Record Plant, Sausalito, California
  • Recorded at Wally Heider's studio, San Francisco
  • Photography - John Grissin
  • Cover art - "Gigi" Barbieri
album cover