tracks musicians credits related releases

The Man With The Mandolin: Complete Recordings 1930-1956

Dave Apollon

Initial release : October 1997

Acoustic Disc ACD 27

Archive recordings by Apollon taken from movies, shows and commercial recordings.

Buy from Acoustic Disc
Buy from

album cover


Disc 1: 1930-1939

  • 2nd Hungraian Rhapsody (Liszf)
  • Two Guitars (Public Domain)
  • Sweet Sue (Harris/Young)
  • A Media Luz (Donata/Lenzi)
  • Russian Rag (Public Domain)
  • Mandolin Blues (Apollon)
  • No Te Enganes Corazon (Sciammarella)
  • La Cucaracha (Public Domain)
  • Czardas (Monti)
  • Tiger Rag (DeCosta)
  • Poet & The Peasant Overture (Public Domain)
  • Dark Eyes (Public Domain)
  • When A Gypsy Makes His Violin Cry (Public Domain)
  • Who (Kern)
  • Who (alternate take) (Kern)
  • Trees (Public Domain)
  • The Lady In Red (Public Domain)
  • Shine (Brown/Dabney/Mack)
  • You Go To My Head (Gillespie)
  • I Want To Be Happy (Caesar/Youmans)
  • You, The Night, And The Music (Public Domain)
  • Music Maestro Please (Magidson/Wrubel)
  • Spanish Fantasy (Apollon)
Disc 2: 1941-1956
  • Perfidia (Cugat/Dominguez/Heagney)
  • Stardust (Carmichael/Parish)
  • Begin The Beguine (Porter)
  • Dark Eyes (Public Domain)
  • Smoke Gets In Your Eyes (Kern)
  • Two Guitars (Public Domain)
  • Czardas (Monti)
  • Gypsy Aires (Sarasate)
  • 2nd Hungarian Rhapsody (Liszt)
  • Play Gypsy Play (Kalman)
  • Hora Staccato (Dinicu)
  • Zigeunerweisen (Sarasate)
  • St. Louis Blues (Public Domain)
  • Pariez D'Amour (Bixio)
  • So In Love (Porter)
  • Lover (take 1) (Hart/Rodgers)
  • Love Your Magic Spell (Goulding)
  • What Is This Thing Called Love (Porter)
  • If I Loved You (Hammerstein/Rodgers)
  • The Man I Love (Gershwin)
  • They Say It's Wonderful (Berlin)
  • Moonlight Love (Debussy/Savino)
  • Amour Medley (Ruiz)
  • Lover Come Back To Me (Romberg)
  • Can't Help Lovin' Dat Man (Kern)
  • Love Is The Sweetest Thing (Noble)
  • Lover (take 8) (Hart/Rodgers)
  • Love Me Or Leave me (Donaldson)

The majority of the music on this release is played by either large ensembles run by Apollon such as Dave Apollon and His Manila Orchestra and Dave Apollon and His Club Casanova Orchestra or by Apollon as the featured instrumentalist with large studio or movie orchestras. The common factor on all tracks is;

  • Dave Apollon - mandolin

  • Producer - David Grisman for Dawg Productions
  • Production coordinator - Craig Miller
  • Mastering - Paul Stubblebine at The Rocket Lab
  • CD booklet notes - David Grisman
  • Design, layout - D. Brent Hauseman
  • Special thanks to; Danzi, Leo and Mike Apollon, Janice Bain, Dix Bruce, Pamela Grisman, Tom Isenhour, Milton Kaiser, Richard Nevins, Alan O'Bryant, Nick Perls, Ingrid Reese, Artie & Harriet Rose and Matthew Stafford
Related releases

Russian Rag and Dark Eyes were included on the Acoustic Disc sampler;