tracks musicians credits reissues related releases

Muleskinner: A Potpourri of Bluegrass Jam


Initial release : May 1974

Warner Brothers BS 2787

John Kahn and David Grisman play on this release.


  • Muleskinner Blues (Rodgers / Vaughn)
  • Blue And Lonesome (Jacobs)
  • Footprints In The Snow (Miller / Elliott)
  • Dark Hollow (Browning)
  • Whitehouse Blues (Traditional arr. Richard Greene)
  • Opus 57 in G Minor (Grisman)
  • Runways Of The Moon (Roberts / Rowan)
  • Roanoke (Ahr)
  • Rain and Snow (Traditional arr. Peter Rowan)
  • Soldier's Joy (Traditional arr. Clarence White)
  • Blue Mule (Rowan)
Buy from

album cover


  • Bill Keith - banjo, pedal steel guitar
  • Peter Rowan - rhythm acoustic guitar, lead vocals
  • Richard Greene - fiddle, bass vocals
  • David Grisman - mandolin, harmony vocals
  • Clarence White - lead acoustic guitar, lead electric guitar, duet and harmony vocals

  • John Guerin - drums
  • John Kahn - bass

  • Producer - Joe Boyd, Richard Greene
  • Recording engineer - 'Doc' Siegel
  • Art direction - Lynn Lascaro
  • Illustrations - Napoleon (from a photo by Ginny Winn)
  • Recorded at Record Plant, Hollywood, CA, March 27 through April 14, 1973
  • This album is dedicated to Clarence White, a virtuoso human being and guitarist

Related releases

Reissued as Ridge Runner RR 0016

Reissued on CD as Sierra 6009

Dark Hollow was included on;