tracks musicians credits related releases

Worcester, MA, 4/4/1973

New Riders of the Purple Sage

Initial release : 2003

Kufala KUF0032

A double CD archive release of the NRPS show at Worcester on April 4, 1973. Keith Godchaux joined the group for the whole show and Donna Godchaux for a couple of songs. The first in the NRPS Live Archive series of releases.


Disc 1;

  • I Don't Know You (Dawson)
  • Lochinvar (Dawson)
  • Rainbow (Dawson)
  • It's Alright With Me (Torbert)
  • Sailin' (Dawson)
  • Whatcha Gonna Do (Dawson)
  • California Day (Torbert)
  • Linda (Dawson)
  • Groupie (Torbert)
  • One Too Many Stories (Dawson)
  • Contract (Torbert)
  • Teardrops In My Eyes (Allen/Sutton)
  • Long Black Veil (Wilkin/Dill)
  • You Ain't Woman Enough (Lynn)
  • Whiskey (Dawson)
Disc 2;
  • Dirty Business (Dawson)
  • Down In The Boondocks (South)
  • Hello Mary Lou (Pitney)
  • You Should Have Seen Me Runnin (Dawson)
  • Portland Woman (Dawson)
  • Henry (Dawson)
  • Glendale Train (John Dawson)
  • Last Lonely Eagle (Dawson)
  • Louisiana Lady (Dawson)
  • Willie and the Hand Jive (Otis)


  • John Dawson - guitar, vocals
  • David Nelson - lead guitar, vocals
  • Dave Torbert - bass, vocals
  • Buddy Cage - pedal steel guitar
  • Spencer Dryden - drums, percussion
Guest musicians;
  • Keith Godchaux - piano
  • Donna Jean Godchaux - vocals (on Long Black Veil and You Ain't Woman Enough)

  • Producer - Rob Bleetstein
  • Recording engineer - Mike Zasuly
  • Recorded live on April 4, 1973 at Clark University, Worcester, MA
Related releases

Glendale Train was included on;

Buy from

album cover

album cover