tracks musicians credits related releases

New Train

Paul Pena

Initial release : September 2000

Hybrid 20019

Jerry Garcia and Merl Saunders play on this release. The album was recorded but not released in 1973.

Buy from

album cover


  • Gonna Move (Pena)
  • New Train (Pena)
  • Jet Airliner (Pena)
  • Wait on What You Want (Pena)
  • Venutian Lady (Pena)
  • Cosmic Mirror (Pena)
  • Let's Move And Groove Together (Nash)
  • Indian Boy (Pena)
  • Bit of All Right (Pena)
  • Taking Your Love Down (Pena)


  • Paul Pena - guitar, piano (on A Bit Of All Right), vocals
  • Ben Sidran - organ, piano
  • Harvey Brooks - bass
  • Gary Malabar - drums
Special guests;
  • Jerry Garcia - pedal steel guitar (on Venutian Lady and New Train)
  • Merl Saunders - keyboards (on Venutian Lady and New Train)
  • The Persuasions - background vocals (on Gonna Move)
  • Charles Greene - background vocals (on Let's Move And Groove Together)
  • Arthur Adams - guitar (on A Bit Of All Right )
  • David Woodford - saxophone (on Cosmic Mirror)
  • The Funky Ladies - additional background vocals
  • Nick DeCaro - arranged strings

  • Producer - Ben Sidran
  • Executive Producer - Jon M. Waxman, Gunther Weil
  • Recorded by Adam Taylor at Intermedia Studios, Boston
  • Recording assistance - Berred
  • Additional recording by Bruce Botnick at Capitol Records, Studio A and at Wally Heider Studios, San Francisco
  • Mixing - Ben Sidran, Marty Feldman at Paragon Studios, Chicago
  • Mixing (Taking Your Love Down) - Ben Sidran, Mark Haines at Smart Studios, Madison
  • Mastering - George Marino at Sterling Sound, New York
  • Liner Notes - Ben Sidran
  • Special thanks - John Scher, Michael Leon, Foye Johnson, Joe Augustine
  • Slipcase photograph - Jennifer Cheek Pantaleon
  • All other images courtesy of Gerd Stern
  • Design - Red Herring Design
Related releases

Venutian Lady was included on;