tracks musicians credits

The Ones That Look the Weirdest Taste the Best

David Gans

Initial release : 2008

Perfectible Recordings

Fifth album from David Gans. This release includes a song, Like A Dog, with lyrics by Robert Hunter. Also includes the song, Down To Eugene, which refers to the Grateful Dead. For more information see David's web site.


  • Shove in the Right Direction (Gans / Rowan)
  • Down to Eugene (Page)
  • An American Family (Gans)
  • That's Real Love (Gans / Skehan III / Carbone / Goessling / Grubb)
  • Save Us from the Saved (Gans)
  • The Bounty of the County (Gans / Hurault)
  • Echolalia (Gans)
  • Headin' Home Already (Gans)
  • Autumn Day (Gans)
  • Like a Dog (Hunter / Gans)
  • It's Gonna Get Better (Gans)

  • David Gans - guitar, vocals
  • Tim Carbone - violin, harmonica, prepared piano, fire extinguishers, drumd, vocals
  • John Skehan III - mandolin, piano, vocals
  • Andy Goessling - autoharp, banjo, guitar, ukulele, clarinet, bass clarinet, baritone saxophone, vocals
  • Buck Dilly - guitar, pedal steel guitar, organ
  • Robert Matarazzo - vocal
  • Johnny Grubb - bass
  • Lindsey Horner - bass
  • Ned Stroh - drums, bowed cymbal
  • Zac Matthews - mandolin, vocal (The Bounty of the County)
  • Paul Knight - bass (on The Bounty of the County)

  • Producer - Tim Carbone
  • Engineer - Don Sternecker
  • Engineer (The Bounty Of The County) - Tim Mooney
  • Recorded at Mix-o-Lydian Studio, Lafayette NJ
  • The Bounty Of The County recorded at Closer Recording, San Francisco
  • Mastering - Joe at Gastwirt Mastering, Oak Park CA
  • Package design - Jeff Otto
  • Photographs - David Gans
Buy as download from

album cover