tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Out Of The Blues - The Best of David Bromberg

David Bromberg

Initial release : 1977

Columbia PC 34467

A Bromberg compilation LP that includes two tracks with contributions from members of the Grateful Dead.

Buy from

album cover


  • The Holdup (Bromberg / Harrison)
  • Send Me to the 'lectric Chair (Brooks)
  • The Joke's on Me (Bromberg)
  • Mr. Bojangles (Walker)
  • The New Lee Highway Blues (Bromberg)
  • Suffer to Sing the Blues (Bromberg)
  • Kansas City (Leiber / Stoller)
  • Demon in Disguise (Bromberg)
  • (What A) Wonderful World (Adler / Alpert / Cooke)
  • Sharon (Bromberg)

  • David Bromberg - guitar, fiddle, dobro, vocals
  • David Amram - french horn
  • Joshie Joe Armstead - vocals
  • Steve Burgh - bass
  • Jerry Garcia - guitar, vocals
  • Donna Godchaux - vocals
  • Keith Godchaux - keyboards
  • Richard Grando - saxophone
  • Hilda Harris - vocals
  • George Harrison - guitar
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Phil Lesh - bass
  • Steve Mosley - drums, vocals
  • David Nichtern - piano, guitar, vocals
  • Willow Scarlett - harmonica, vocals
  • Andy Statman - tenor and baritone saxophone
  • Jody Stecher - mandolin, fiddle, vocals
  • Tasha Thomas - vocals
This compilation does not include any musician information.

The members of the Dead play on Sharon and Demon In Disguise which are taken from Demon In Disguise.

Sharon is included on the later Bromberg compilation The Player: Retrospective which provides a list a musicians for the track;

  • David Bromberg - guitar, vocals
  • Jerry Garcia - guitar, vocals
  • Keith Godchaux - piano
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Steve Burgh - bass
  • Andy Statman - tenor and baritone saxophone
  • Joshie Joe Armstead - vocals
  • Hilda Harris - vocals
  • Tasha Thomas - vocals

Only brief credit information is provided with this compilation;

  • Original producers - David Bromberg, Brian Ahern, Bernie Leadon
  • Art work - Seymour Chwast
  • Liner notes - Ira Mayer
The credits for the original recording of Sharon and Demon In Disguise are;
  • Producer - David Bromberg
  • Engineer - James Green, David Brown, Stan Tonkel, Buddy Graham, Stan Hutto
  • Remix engineer - Tim Geelan, Don Meehan

Out Of The Blue is a 'Best Of' compilation drawn from Bromberg's early 70's LPs.

Related releases

Sharon and Demon In Disguise are taken from;

Sharon was also included on the later Bromberg compilation; Members of the Grateful Dead played on one other Bromberg album;