tracks musicians credits notes

The Planet Earth Rock And Roll Orchestra

Paul Kantner

Initial release : 1983

RCA AFL1-4320

This album by Kantner and members of Jefferson Starship includes one song co-written by Jerry Garcia and carries a dedication that includes Garcia, Kreutzmann and Hart.

album cover

  • Planet Earth Rock and Roll Orchestra (Kantner)
  • (She Is A) Telepath (Kantner)
  • Circle of Fire (Kantner)
  • Mount Shasta (Kantner / Mathews / Nagle / Slick)
  • Lilith's Song (Kantner / Slick / Sears)
  • Transubstantiation Part 1: Esperanto (Kantner / Mathews / Nagle / Slick)
  • Transubstantiation Part 2: Science Fiction (Kantner)
  • Mountain Song (Kantner / Garcia)
  • Declaration of Independence (Gibbs / Dougherty)
  • Underground (The Laboratories) (Kantner / Mathews / Nagle)
  • Sky Is No Limit (Kantner / Kantner)
  • Let's Go (Kantner)

  • Paul Kantner - guitar, synthesizer, banjo, glass harmonica, vocals
  • John Blakeley - guitar
  • Jack Casady - bass
  • Craig Chaquico - guitar
  • Aynsley Dunbar - drums
  • David Freiberg - synthesizer, vocals
  • Alexander Kantner - vocals
  • China Kantner - vocals
  • Scott Matthews - mandolin, piano, organ, harmonica, drums, synthesizer, saxophone, percussion, pedal steel guitar, vocoder, vocals
  • Ronnie Montrose - guitar
  • Ron Nagle - piano, vocals
  • Pete Sears - piano
  • Grace Slick - piano, vocals
  • Mickey Thomas - vocals
  • Mark Volman and Howard Kaylan (Flo and Eddie) - vocals
  • The Durocs - sounds

  • Producers - Paul Kantner, Ron Nagle, Scott Mathews, Jefferson Starship, Kevin Beamish
  • Director - Paul Kantner
  • Production co-ordinator - Pat Ieraci (Maurice)
  • Production co-ordinator assistandt - Vick Ieraci
  • Mixing commanded by - Ken Kessie
  • Mixing assistant - Maureen Droney
  • Engineers - Maureen Droney, Scott Matthews, Ron Nagle, David Frazer, Wayne lewis, Steve Fontana
  • Mastering - Jeff Sanders, Lindy Griffin
  • Art Direction - Jim Welsc
  • Illustrations - Bud Thorn
  • Recorded at the Automatt, San Francisco
  • Additional music and sound effects recorded at the Pen, San Francisco

The origins of this album and the title derive from the loose aggregation of San Francisco musicians, including Garcia, who rehearsed together and who contributed to each others recordings in 1970 / 1971. Kantner's dedication for Mountain Song on this album reflects this origin;

David C, Jerry G, Graham N, Grace S, David F, Billy K and Mickey H, and to one summer when all our schedules almost didn't conflict.
The musicians involved on this album though, with the exception of Kantner and Grace Slick, were not involved with the original PERRo group. Those involved here are Kantner's family and the then current line up of Jefferson Starship.