tracks musicians

Pickin' On Gov't Mule: A Bluegrass Tribute

Various Artists

Initial release : 2004

CMH Records

Bluegrass versions of Gov't Mule songs. Includes one song, Lay Of The Sunflower, that was co-written by Robert Hunter. Also includes a song, Patchwork Quilt, that is a tribute to Jerry Garcia.


  • Soulshine
  • Mule
  • I Shall Return
  • Bad Little Doggie
  • Slow Happy Boys
  • Beautifully Broken
  • Time to Confess
  • Drivin' Rain
  • Lay of the Sunflower
  • Banks of the Deep End
  • Patchwork Quilt
  • The Federal Donkey Breakdown

Musicians include;

  • David West - banjo, guitar, mandolin, bass
  • Tom Ball - harmonica
  • Paul Pai-Shih Lee - fiddle
  • Buster Saticoy - fiddle
  • Lorenzo Martinez - percussion
  • Bob Nichols - drums
Buy from

album cover