tracks musicians credits notes

Pure Jerry: Hampton, Virginia, November 9, 1991

Jerry Garcia Band

Initial release : 2006

Jerry Made JGCD0007

A 2 CD archive release of music comprising the complete Jerry Garcia Band shows at the Hampton, Coliseum on November 9, 1991. Bruce Hornsby sat in on electric piano for the complete show.


Disc 1;

  • How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You) (Holland / Dozier / Holland)
  • He Ain't Give You None (Morrison)
  • You Never Can Tell (C'est La Vie) (Berry)
  • Run for the Roses (Garcia / Hunter)
  • The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down (Robertson)
  • I Second That Emotion (Robinson / Cleveland)
  • My Sisters and My Brothers (Johnson)
  • Ain't No Bread In the Breadbox (Buffalo)
Disc 2;
  • Bright Side of the Road (Morrison)
  • Shining Star (Graham / Richmond)
  • Waiting for a Miracle (Cockburn)
  • Think (McCracklin / Malone)
  • I Shall Be Released (Dylan)
  • Don't Let Go (Stone)
  • Midnight Moonlight (Rowan)
  • What a Wonderful World (Weiss / Thiele)

  • Jerry Garcia - guitar, vocals
  • Gloria Jones - vocals
  • John Kahn - bass
  • David Kemper - drums
  • Jaclyn LaBranch - vocals
  • Melvin Seals - organ
  • Bruce Hornsby - electric piano

  • Producer - Jerry Garcia
  • Recording - John Cutler
  • Research - The Usual Suspects
  • Engineering, mastering - Joe Gastwirt at Joe's Mastering Joint
  • Special thanks to Bruce Hornsby
  • Recorded live at the Coliseum, Hampton, VA on November 9, 1991

The rear cover of this release includes the following note;

This package contains CDs compiled from two-track, soundboard tapes that are not to be mistaken for or confused with fully produced studio masters. For as much as any other purpose, these recordings are offered to honor the electrifying spiritual, social and historical aspects of the Jerry Garcia Band's concert of November 9, 1991. Enjoy this marvellous music with our assurance that every step has been taken to present it in a way that faithfully celebrates its original performance.
Buy from

album cover