tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Pure Jerry: Warner Theatre, March 18, 1978

Jerry Garcia Band

Initial release : 2005

Jerry Made

2 CD archive release of music from the early and late Jerry Garcia Band shows at the Warner Theatre, Washington, DC on March 18, 1978.


Disc 1

    Early show

  • I Second That Emotion (Robinson / Cleveland)
  • They Love Each Other (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Knockin' On Heaven's Door (Dylan)
  • That's What Love Will Make You Do
  • Love In The Afternoon (Kahn / Hunter)
  • Mystery Train (Parker / Philips)

    Late Show

  • The Harder They Come (Cliff)
Disc 2
  • Mission In The Rain (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Simple Twist Of Fate (Dylan)
  • Midnight Moonlight (Rowan)
  • Gomorrah (Garcia / Hunter)
  • Cats Under The Stars (Garcia / Hunter)
  • I'll Be With Thee (Love)
  • Lonesome And A Long Way From Home (Bramlett / Bramlett / Russell)
  • Palm Sunday (Garcia / Hunter)

  • Jerry Garcia - guitar, vocals
  • John Kahn - bass
  • Keith Godchaux - electric grand piano, vocals
  • Donna Jean Godchaux - vocals
  • Maria Muldaur - vocals
  • Buzz Buchanan - drums

  • Executive producer - Christopher Sabec, Peter McQuaid
  • Recording - Betty Cantor-Jackson
  • Tape research - David Lemieux
  • Engineering, mastering - Joe Gastwirt at Joe's Mastering Joint
  • Photography - Bob Minkin
  • Album coordination - Jeff Adams
  • Special thanks to Tom Craig

The rear cover of the CD package includes the following note;

The fifteen songs presented within this package comprise the first ever official and complete release of the two widely acclaimed Jerry Garcia Band concerts that took place March 18, and early Palm Sunday, 1978. Selected and approved by our own patented - and often painful - evaluation process, these tunes are among the very best found within a trove of original JGB soundboard mater tapes. Please accept no substitutes, and be assured that these CDs authentically celebrate the music's original performance to the fullest legal extent.
Related releases

Mission In The Rain was included on;

Buy from

album cover