tracks musicians credits related releases

Shakedown Street / France

Grateful Dead

Initial release : April 1979

Arista 0410

The second 7" single released in conjunction with the Shakedown Street LP.


  • Shakedown Street (Garcia/Hunter)
  • France (Hart/Weir/Hunter)

Grateful Dead;

  • Jerry Garcia - guitar, vocals
  • Donna Godchaux - vocals
  • Keith Godchaux - keyboards
  • Mickey Hart - drums, percussion
  • Robert Hunter - lyrics
  • Billy Kreutzmann - drums, percussion
  • Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
  • Bob Weir - guitar, vocals
Additional musicians possibly playing on these tracks;
  • Jordan Amarantha - percussion
  • Matthew Kelly - harp

For the original recording of Shakedown Street;

  • Producer - Lowell George
  • Co-Producer - Dan Healy
  • Associate Producer - John Kahn
  • Engineer - Bob Matthews
  • Recorded and mixed at Club Front
  • Mastered by George Horn at the Automat, San Francisco
Related releases

Shakedown Street and France were also released on;

A promotional single comprising two versions of Shakedown Street was also distributed; Shakedown Street was subsequently released on another single; A vinyl reissue of the Shakedown Street / France single was released in 2020:
album cover

album cover