tracks musicians credits notes

Sing Out For Seva

A Benefit CD For The Seva Foundation

Various Artists

Initial release : October 1999

Grateful Dead Records (Arista) GDCD 4067

This benefit album for the Seva Foundation includes live tracks from Seva benefit shows by Bob Weir, Mickey Hart's Planet Drum, Phil Lesh with David Crosby and Graham Nash, and Bruce Hornsby.

Buy from

album cover


  • Don't Think Twice, It's All Right (Dylan)
  • Darkest Hour (Musselwhite)
  • Southland Of The Heart (Cockburn)
  • Wasteland (Bern)
  • Can't Help Falling In Love (Peretti/Weiss/Creatore)
  • I Am The Light Of This World (Davis)
  • Luna (Adepoju/Garibaldi/Hill/Hart/Hidalgo/Hussain/Kumalo/Mauleo'n)*
  • A Night On The Town (Hornsby/Hornsby)
  • Shadow Of Doubt (Nicholson)
  • KC Moan (Traditional)
  • Box Of Rain (Hunter/Lesh)
  • Wooden Ships (Crosby/Stills/Kantner)
* Luna is a poem written by Julia Butterfly Hill performed to the music of the song Endless River


The performers on each track are as follows.

Don't Think Twice, It's All Right;

  • Ramblin' Jack Elliott - guitar, vocals
Darkest Hour;
  • Charlie Musselwhite - guitar, harmonica, vocals
Southland Of The Heart;
  • Maria Muldaur - vocals
  • Mike Shermer - guitar
  • Chris Burns - bass, keyboards
  • Stan Hale - drums
  • Dan Bern - guitar, vocals
Can't Help Falling In Love;
  • Arlo Guthrie - guitar, vocals
I Am The Light Of This World;
  • Jorma Kaukonen - guitar, vocals
  • Pete Sears - keyboards
  • Michael Falzarano - guitar
  • Mickey Hart - ramu
  • Rebeca Mauleo'n - keyboards, vocals
  • Sikuru Adepoju - talking drum
  • Jorge Bermudez - congas, percussion
  • Charlie Musselwhite - harmonica
A Night On The Town;
  • Bruce Hornsby - keyboards, vocals
Shadow Of Doubt;
  • Bonnie Raitt - guitar, vocals
  • Charlie Musselwhite - harmonica
  • Hutch Hutchinson - bass
KC Moon;
  • Bob Weir - guitar, vocals
Box Of Rain;
  • Phil Lesh - bass, vocals
  • David Crosby - guitar, vocals
  • Graham Nash - guitar, vocals
  • Jeff Pevar - - guitar
  • James Raymond - keyboards
Wooden Ships;
  • David Crosby - guitar, vocals
  • Graham Nash - guitar, vocals
  • Phil Lesh - bass
  • Jeff Pevar - - guitar
  • James Raymond - keyboards

  • Producer - Tamara Klamner
  • Recording - Barnet Harchis except Can't Help Falling In Love recorded by Howard Danchik
  • Mastering - Paul Stubblebine
  • Technical assistance - David Gans
  • Cover disgn taken from Sing Out For SEVA concert poster (1998) - Alton Kelley
  • Photography - Jay Blakesberg, Susana Millman
  • Tie Dyes - John Goodhue
  • Package design - Michael Zipkin, Lucid Design
  • Liner notes - Tamara Klamner with help from Seva staff and friends
The album is dedicated as follows;
We dedicate Sing Out For SEVA to Wavy Gravy. May it bring you as much joy as his presence has in our community.

Seva was founded in 1978 to work to help people throughout the world suffering from curable blindness. The CD liner notes outline the some of the current projects in Seva's program and their guiding principles.

An address for further information about Seva's work and for making donations is also given;

1786 Fifth St.
CA 94710
(800) 223-7382 or (510) 845-7382
Fax (510) 845-7410

The tracks are taken from three Seva benefit shows.

  • Don't Think Twice, It's All Right, Darkest Hour, Wasteland, Luna, KC Moan, Box Of Rain and Wooden Ships - Berkeley Community Theater, May 15, 1998
  • Southland Of The Heart, I Am The Light Of This World, A Night On The Town and Shadow Of Doubt - Berkeley Community Theater, December 19, 1998
  • Can't Help Falling In Love - Nob Hill Community Center, February 13, 1994