tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Smoke: Music From The Miramax Motion Picture

Various Artists

Initial release : June 1995

Miramax Records / Hollywood Records 62024

This soundtrack release includes two tracks by the Jerry Garcia Band.


  • Brooklyn Bridge (Louis Prima / Earl Bostic)
  • Cigarettes And Coffee (Jerry Butler / Eddie Thomas / Jay Walker)
  • Downtown Train (Tom Waits)
  • Augie's Photos (Rachel Portman)
  • Baby Wants Kisses (Annbouboula)
  • Supa Star - Inst. Mix (Chris Martin / Jamal Felder / James Heath)
  • Sexy Dumb Dumb (Sophia George)
  • Hong Kong (Jay Hawkins / Irv Nahan)
  • Prelude & Fugue For Piano, Op 87, No. 1 in C Major (Shostakovitch)
  • Snow Story (Rachel Portman)
  • Innocent When You Dream (Barroom) (Tom Waits)
  • Smoke Gets In Your Eyes (Jerome Kern / Otto Harbach)

The Jerry Garcia Band tracks are Cigarettes And Coffee and Smoke Gets In Your Eyes. The musicians involved on these tracks are;

  • Jerry Garcia - guitar, vocals
  • John Kahn - bass
  • Melvin Seals - keyboards
  • Donny Baldwin - drums
  • Gloria Jones - vocals
  • Jackie LaBranch - vocals
The other tracks on this soundtrack are performed by;
  • Brooklyn Bridge - Louis Prima
  • Downtown Train and Innocent When You Dream (Barroom) - Tom Waits
  • Augie's Photos and Snow Story - Rachel Portman
  • Baby Wants Kisses - Annbouboula
  • Supa Star : Inst. Mix - Group Home
  • Sexy Dumb Dumb - Sophia George
  • Hong Kong - Screamin' Jay Hawkins
  • Prelude & Fugue For Piano, Op 87, No. 1 in C Major - Tatiana Nikolaeva

Credits for Cigarettes And Coffee and Smoke Gets In Your Eyes only;

  • Recorded at Fantasy Studios
  • Produced and arranged by John Kahn
  • Executive producer - Debbie Gold
  • Engineer - Brian Risner
  • Assistant engineer - Richard Duarte
  • Mixed by Brian Risner at Fantasy Studios
Credits for the soundtrack CD;
  • Executive producer - Bob Weinstein, Harvey Weinstein
  • Soundtrack producer - Jeffrey Kimball
  • Music supervisor for film - Lynn Geller
  • Business affairs - Jill Meyers
  • Mastered by Vlado Meller
  • Album editor - Todd Kasow

Soundtrack CD of music from the Wayne Wang and Paul Auster film Smoke which starred William Hurt, Harvey Keitel, Stockard Channing, Harold Perrineau and Forest Whitaker.

Music for the film was orchestrated by Rachel Portman.

Related releases

Smoke Gets In Your Eyes was included on a two song sampler CD promoting this full CD release;

  • Smoke Sampler, Jerry Garcia Band / Tom Waits, 1995, Island Records Smoke 1-2 (Spanish version)
Buy from

album cover