tracks / musicians related releases

Sounds of the Seventies: 1970

Various Artists

Initial release : 1989

Time-Life SOD-01

Single CD compilation album that includes Uncle John's Band by the Grateful Dead. Also includes tracks by Sly & The Family Stone and Santana. This compilation was subsequently repackaged and released as Ultimate Seventies: 1970 in 2003.

Tracks / Musicians

The tracks and performers on this compilation are;

  • Up Around the Bend - Creedence Clearwater Revival
  • War - Edwin Starr
  • Domino - Van Morrison
  • Mama Told Me (Not to Come) - Three Dog Night
  • The Rapper - The Jaggerz
  • Uncle John's Band - Grateful Dead
  • Spirit in the Sky - Norman Greenbaum
  • The Letter - Joe Cocker
  • Black Magic Woman - Santana
  • Love on a Two-Way Street - The Moments
  • He Ain't Heavy, He's My Brother - The Hollies
  • ABC - The Jackson 5
  • American Woman - The Guess Who
  • After Midnight - Eric Clapton
  • Green-Eyed Lady - Sugarloaf
  • Fire and Rain - James Taylor
  • The Tears of a Clown - Smokey Robinson and the Miracles
  • Lonely Days - The Bee Gees
  • Ride Captian Ride - Blues Image
  • All Right Now - Free
  • Thank You (Falletin Me Be Mice Elf Agin) - Sly & the Family Stone
Related releases

Uncle John's Band is taken from;

Thank You (Falletin Me Be Mice Elf Agin) was originally released on a single;
  • Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin) / Everybody is a Star, Sly & The Family Stone, 1970, Epic 10555
Black Magic Woman was originally released on;
Buy from

album cover

Buy from

album cover