tracks musicians credits related releases

Stories the Crow Told Me

John Cohen

Initial release : November 1998

Acoustic Disc ACD 34

John Cohen's first solo release. A collection of traditional songs performed by John Cohen with a few guest including David Grsiman.

Buy from Acoustic Disc
Buy from

album cover


  • Rambling Hobo
  • The Story That The Crow Told Me
  • Farmland Blues
  • Cannonball
  • Twin Sisters (Duo)
  • The Highwayman
  • Buckdancer's Choice
  • Which Side Are You On?
  • Sugar In The Gourd
  • Fine Sally
  • Chittlin Cookin' Time In Cheatham County
  • Chilly Winds
  • Danville Girl
  • Talkin' Hard Luck
  • Sally In The Garden
  • My Name Is John Johanna
  • Twin Sisters (Solo)
  • Dark Holler
  • It's Hard To Love
  • I Walk The Road Again
  • Alabama Gals
  • Rolling Mills Burning Down
  • Chinquapin Pie

The songs are performed by John Cohen either solo or as duo, trio or quartet groupings with the other three musicians. The musicians involved are;

  • John Cohen - banjo, guitar, vocals
  • Sue Draheim - fiddle
  • David Grisman - mandolin, banjo, autoharp, crow call
  • Jody Stecher - guitar, banjo, fiddle

  • Producer - John Cohen, David Grisman
  • Executive Producer - Craig Miller
  • Recorded directly to two track analog by - David Dennison, David Grisman
  • Mastering - Paul Stubblebine at The Rocket Labs
  • Title concept - John Cohen
  • Liner notes - John Cohen
  • Photography - John Cohen, Julie Chae
  • Disc art photography - Ed Grazda
  • Collages - Leonard Stokes
  • Cover Design - David Grisman, Brent Hauseman utilisiing collages by Leonard Stokes from photos by Eck Dunford, Robert Frank and Suzanne Sbarge
  • Special thanks - Mary Buffington, Sonya Cohen, Pam Grisman, Josh Michael, Isabel Miller, Artie and Harriet Rose
Related releases

The Highwayman and Talking Hard Luck are included on the Acoustic Disc sampler;

John Cohen's notes include information about the sources of his versions of the songs. This information sometimes indicates the original performer, compilations that include the original version of the song and other albums that have included the song. Performers and albums mentioned include the following.

Original performers;

  • June Apple
  • Ralph Blizard
  • Dock Boggs
  • Gaither Carlton
  • The Carolina Buddies
  • The Carolina Tar Heels
  • The Carter Family
  • Crocketts Mountaineers
  • Lonnie Glosson
  • Kelly Harrell
  • George Landers
  • Sam McGee
  • Monroe Brothers
  • Sidna Myers
  • John Jacob Niles
  • Charlie Poole and the North Carolina Rambler
  • Arthur Smith and the Delmore Bothers
  • Hobart Smith
  • Cass Wallin
  • Wade Ward
  • Anthology of American Folk Music, Smithsonian Folkways
  • Blue Ridge Mountain Music, Various Artists, Atlantic
  • High Atmosphere, Various Artists, Rounder
  • More Clawhammer Banjo, Various Artists, County
  • Old Love Songs and Ballads, Various Artists, Folkways
  • Old Time Fiddle Tunes, Various Artists, County
  • Old Time Mountain Guitar, Various Artists, County
  • Old Time Music at Newport, Various Artists (Doc Watson), Vanguard
  • Roots of Rap, Various Artists, Yazoo
Other albums;
  • Sod Busters Ballads, The Almanac Singers, Commodore
  • Talking Union, The Almanac Singers, Keynote
  • Close To Home, Archie Sturgill, Smithsonian Folkways
  • Original Recordings, Doc Watson and Clarence Ashley, Smithsonian Folkways
  • New Lost City Ramblers, Vol. 4, New Lost City Ramblers, Folkways
  • The Early Years, New Lost City Ramblers, Smithsonian Folkways
  • Gone To The Country, New Lost City Ramblers, Folkways
  • Modern Times, New Lost City Ramblers, Folkways
  • Hobart Smith, Hobart Smith, Folk Legacy
  • Oooh So Good and Blues, Taj Mahal, Columbia