description musicians credits related releases

The Teddy Bears' Picnic

Jerry Garcia / David Grisman / Bruce Whatley

Initial release : 1996

HarperCollins Children's Books

A children's book with audio cassette of the title song by Garcia and Grisman. The first in a series of three.


A 32 page, 8 x 10, children's picture book with illustrations by Bruce Whatley accompanied by an audio cassette of Garcia and Grisman performing the song Teddy Bear's Picnic.

Harper Collins web page blurb describes the book as follows;

The legendary Jerry Garcia joins with David Grisman to create a down-home, Dixieland version of this classic song. A cassette recording is packaged in the back of this new picture book version of everyone's favorite picnic in the woods. Best-selling artist Bruce Whatley has created a rollicking collection of singing, dancing and picnicking teddy bears with a slight 60's twist. So come along -it's time for the Teddy Bears' Picnic!

It has not yet been confirmed but it is thought that the recording of Teddy Bear's Picnic used for this book is taken from the Garcia / Grisman CD Not For Kids Only. If this is the case then the musicians involved are;

  • Jerry Garcia - guitar, vocals
  • David Grisman - mandolin, banjo, vocals
  • Jim Kerwin - bass
  • Rick Montgomery - guitar
  • Kevin Porter - trombone
  • Jim Rothermel - clarinet
  • Peter Welker - trumpet

The credits for the recording of Not For Kids only are;

  • Producer - David Grisman
  • Mixing - Dawg with Decibel Dave
  • Engineer - David Dennison
  • Assistant Producer - Craig Miller
  • Mastering - Paul Stubblebine
  • All compositions arranged and adapted by Grisman and Garcia
Related releases

Teddy Bear's Picnic is taken from;

Buy from