tracks musicians credits related releases

Tone Poems II

David Grisman and Martin Taylor

The Sounds Of The Great Jazz Guitars, Mandolins, Mandolas & Mandocellos

Initial release : October 1995

Acoustic Disc ACD 18

19 standards played on 41 classic instruments. Grisman and Taylor recreate "vintage voices of the jazz age". The CD is accompanied by a 46 page booklet, with many photos, describing the instruments used, their makers and some of the musicians associated with them.

Buy from Acoustic Disc
Buy from

album cover


  • Swanee (Gershwin)
  • Teasing the Frets (Lucas)
  • It Had to Be You (Jones/Kahn)
  • Please (Ranger/Robin)
  • Mood Indigo (Bigard/Ellington/Mills)
  • Anything Goes (Porter)
  • Blue Moon (Hart/Rodgers)
  • Lulu's Back in Town (Dubin/Warren)
  • Tears (Reinhardt)
  • Jeepers Creepers (Mercer/Warren)
  • Over the Rainbow (Arlen/Harburg)
  • Musette for a Magpie (Taylor)
  • Mairzy Doats (Drake/Hoffman/Livingston)
  • Besame Mucho (Velazquez)
  • Unforgettable (Gordon)
  • Here's That Rainy Day (Burke/VanHeusen)
  • My Romance (Hart/Rodgers)
  • Out of Nowhere (Green/Heyman)
  • Crystal Silence (Corea)

  • David Grisman - mandolins, mandolas, mandocellos, tenor guitar, guitar
  • Martin Taylor - guitars

  • Producer, Liner Notes - David Grisman
  • Production Coordination - Craig Miller
  • Recording engineer - David Dennison
  • Additional recording - Larry Cummings
  • Instruments setup - Dexter Johnson
  • Mastering - Paul Stubblebine
  • Recorded at Dawg Studios, January 1995
  • Mastered at The Rocket Lab
  • Liner Notes - David Grisman, Dexter Johnson
  • String by D'Addario
  • Photography, graphic design - D. Brent Hauseman
  • Additional photography - Ira Landgarten, Steve Szilagyi, David Yawnick
  • Instruments courtesy of Ed Ashworth, John Burns, Gerry Beaudoin, Will Dikel, David Grisman, David Harvey, Dexter Johnson, Pete McRae, G.E. Smith, Matt Umanov, Stan Werbin, Tony Williamson
A number of the tunes on this release are dedicated to people;
  • Swanee dedicated to Ralph Rinzler
  • My Romance dedicated to James D'Aquisto
  • Here's That Rainy Day dedicated to Bob Alenko and Jethro Burns
  • Over The Rainbow dedicated to Jerry Garcia
Related releases

It Had to Be You and Over The Rainbow are included on the Acoustic Disc sampler;

Two songbooks were published in conjunction with this CD;