tracks musicians credits notes related releases

The Twain Shall Meet

Eric Burdon and The Animals

Initial release : 1968

MGM 4537

The song Monterey on this album includes a reference to the Grateful Dead.

Buy from



  • Monterey (Burdon/Weider/Briggs/McCulloch/Jenkins)
  • Just the Thought
  • Closer to the Truth
  • No Self Pity
  • Oranges and Red Beans
  • Sky Pilot
  • We Love You Lil
  • All Is One

  • Eric Burdon - percussion, vocals
  • Zoot Money - keyboards
  • John Weider - bass, guitar
  • Danny McCulloch - guitar, vocals
  • Vic Briggs - bass

  • Engineer - Ami Hadani
  • Producer - Tom Wilson

Monterey includes the following verse;

The birds and the airplane did fly
Oh, Ravi Shankars music made me cry
The Who exploded into fire and light
Hugh Masakela's music was black as night
The Grateful Dead blew everybodies mind
Jimi Hendrix baby,believe me, set the world on fire, yeah
Related releases

Monterey has been included on a number of Animals, Eric Burdon and various artists compilations.