tracks musicians credits notes related releases

Vintage NRPS

New Riders Of The Purple Sage

Initial release : 1986

Relix 2025 (?)

The second Relix NRPS release. Archive live material that includes Garcia on pedal steel guitar.

Buy from

album cover


  • I Don't Know You (John Dawson)
  • Cecilia (John Dawson)
  • Whatcha Gonna Do (John Dawson)
  • Dirty Business (John Dawson)
  • Fair Chance to Know (John Dawson)
  • Garden of Eden (John Dawson)
  • Portland Woman (John Dawson)
  • Honky Tonk Women (Jagger / Richard)

  • John Dawson - guitar, vocals
  • Spencer Dryden - drums
  • David Nelson - guitar, vocals
  • Dave Torbert - bass, vocals
  • Jerry Garcia - pedal steel, guitar

  • Producer - David Nelson
  • Engineer - David Luke
  • Mixed at Fantasy Recording, Berkeley
  • Cover painting - David Nelson
  • Back photo - Herb Greene
  • Liner notes - David Nelson

  • Recorded on February 21 and 23, 1971 at the Capitol Theater in Port Chester.

  • This album is dedicated to the loving memory of David Tolbert

The rear cover blurb;

In the early 1970's the New Riders of the Purple Sage had the good fortune to be opening for the Grateful Dead on concert tours throughout the country. We had jut formed the band around our longtime friendships and John Dawson's new songs. Green kids for the most part, the New Riders were virtually dazzled and amazed night after night. The audiences were fantastic and they solicited many an inspired performance from each and all of us. Everyone involved felt this to be a very special time. And it was.

This album is a piece of that very time. February 21 and 23, 1971 - Capitol Theater, Port Chester, NY

Related releases

Dirty Business was included on;

Dirty Business, Honky Tonk Women and Portland Woman were included on; Dirty Business was included on; I Don't Know You was included on; Cecilia was included on;