tracks musicians credits reissues related releases

Who Are Those Guys?

New Riders Of The Purple Sage

Initial release : 1977

MCA 2248

Second NRPS album on MCA.

Buy from

album cover


  • I Can Heal You (Holmes)
  • High Rollers (Belin/Marshall)
  • Peggy Sue (Allison/Holly/Petty)
  • (Just) Another Night In Reno (Love)
  • It Never Hurts To Be Nice To Somebody (McGinnis)
  • Love Has Strange Ways (Love)
  • Hold On It's Coming (McDonald)
  • By And By When I Need You (Love)
  • Home Grown (Dryden)
  • Red Hot Women And Ice Cold Beer (Coben)

New Riders;

  • John Dawson - rhythm guitar, vocals
  • David Nelson - lead guitar, vocals
  • Buddy Cage - pedal steel guitar
  • Spencer Dryden - drums
  • Stephen Love - bass, vocals
Additional musicians
  • John Hug - guitar
  • Bill Stewart - drums

  • Producer - Bob Johnston
  • Arranger - Jim Ed Norman
  • Engineer - Tom Flye
  • Assistant engineer - Steve Fontano
  • Road manager - Dale Franklin
  • Crew - Bruce Hendricks, Bernie Granat
  • Photography, design - Phil Fewsmith
  • Artdireection - George Osaki
  • Recorded at the Record Plant, Sausalito in October and November 1976
Further information will be added when available.


Reissued on CD as One Way 22109 .

Related releases

Two singles were released in conjunction with this LP;

  • (Just) Another Night In Reno / Home Grown, New Riders of the Purple Sage, February 1977
  • Love Has Strange Ways / Red Hot Women and Ice Cold Beer, New Riders of the Purple Sage, May 1977
(Just) Another Night In Reno was included on the MCA compilation;
  • Take A Red, New Riders Of The Purple Sage, 19??, MCA 20374