tracks / musicians notes related releases

The Whole Burbank Catalog

Various Artists

Initial release : 1972

Warner Brothers PRO 512

A Warner Brothers loss leader sampler that includes one track from Garcia's first solo LP.

Tracks / Musicians

The tracks and performers on this compilation are as follows.

Side 1: Funky Fruit:

  • Sgt Preston of the Yukon - Radio spot
  • The Wheel - Jerry Garcia
  • It Hurts to Want It So Bad - Arthur Alexander
  • Fingers and Toes - Allen Toussaint
  • Lavender Dream - Jackie Lomax
  • Eagle Rock - Daddy Cool
Side 2: Heavy Herbs:
  • Manhattan Merry-Go-Round - Radio spot
  • Memphis - The Faces
  • Nena - Malo
  • Show Me a Smile - Fleetwood Mac
  • Sweet Dream - Jethro Tull
  • Be My Lover - Alice Cooper
Side 3: Wondrous Weeds:
  • Inner Sanctum - Radio spot
  • Bang a Gong (Get It On) - T Rex
  • Click Clack - Captain Beefheart
  • Biology II - Half Nelson
  • Sudan Village - Seals and Croft
  • A Long Time, A Long Way to Go - Todd Rundgren
  • Sandman - America
Side 4: Hardy Perennials:
  • The Lone Ranger - Radio spot
  • William Tell Overture - Walter Carlos
  • Mad! - Little Jerry and the Monotones
  • Money Honey - Ry Cooder
  • Big Road - Bonnie Raitt
  • Bluegreens - William Truckaway
  • Howdido - Ramblin' Jack Elliott
  • Simple Joys - Kenny Young
  • Ukulele Lady - Arlo Guthrie
The Wheel is taken from Garcia's first solo LP on which the musicians are;
  • Jerry Garcia
  • Bill Kreutzmann

For the compilation;

  • Compilation assemblage Barry Hansen (Dr Demento)
  • Annotation - Pete Johnson, Carol Powers, John Mendelsohn, Alison Wickwire

One of a large series of loss leader samplers produced by Warner Brothers in the early and mid 1970s. The liner notes explain the function and purpose of the release;

Function The Whole Burbank Catalog functions as an evaluation and access device. With it the user should know better what is worth getting and where and how to do the getting. Also he should be inspired to go out and buy many of the record albums from which the selections that compose the catalog were excerpted. An item is listed in the Catalog if it is deemed;

  1. Pleasant to listen to,
  2. Relevant to self-enlightenment
  3. High quality and low cost, considering,
  4. Presently or about to be available at record shops.

Catalog listings are continually revised according to the experience and suggestions of Catalog users and staff.

Purpose We are the gods and might as well get good at it. So far remotely done power and glory - as via government, big business, formal education, church and rival record companies - has succeeded to the point where gross defects obscure actual gains. In response to this dilemma and to these gains a realm of intimate, personal power is developing - power of the individual to conduct his own education, find his own inspiration, shale his own environment, share his adventures with whoever is interested and buy the right discs. Tools that aid this process are sought and promoted by the Whole Burbank Catalog.

From the midst of the Grateful Dead comes Jerry Garcia, who has transported about as many people on the wings of his lyrical electric guitar as MacDonald's has sold hamburgers. The benign Mr. Garcia has been largely responsible for the current pedal steel guitar boom in rock music, the reason for which you can hear vividly on this track, a selection from his first solo album.

Actually it's a solo album in concept only, for Jerry Garcia has too many musical companions to make lonesome music and solo in his case means just a bit more in front than usual. That'' him singing too. "The thing about music is that nobody listens to it unless it's real," Jerry told Guitar Player magazine. "I don't think you can fool anybody for too long in music. And you certainly can't fool everybody." Garcia has never made anything less than real music. In addition to the booklet the record sleeves display a view of Burbank in 1917 and information about other releases in the loss leader series. These samplers cost $2 when released, postage included.

Many of these samplers were selected by Dr. Demento, who briefly comments on the series in the liner notes to Dr. Demento 25th Anniversary Collection;

In December 1971 Steven Siegal landed a job at another L.A. station, KMET-FM. Once again he introduced me as a guest on his show, and KMET wound up hiring me as well, for Sunday evenings again. I would stay at KMET for the next 15 years, an eternity in the radio business, while KMET gradually tightened its format and became a legendary rock radio powerhouse. Shortly after joining KMET, I had my very first special guest on the show-Frank Zappa. Meanwhile, I got a day job at Warner Bros. Records, where I compiled a long series of sampler albums with titles like The Whole Burbank Catalog and Days Of Wine And Vinyl.
The Whole Burbank Catalog was the first of these samplers to credit Dr. Demento.

Related releases

The Wheel is taken from;

  • Garcia, Jerry Garcia, 1972, Warner Brothers BS 2582
The other tracks are mainly from other Warner Brothers and Reprise LPs from the early 1970s;
  • It Hurts to Want It So Bad - Arthur Alexander, Arthur Alexander
  • Fingers and Toes - Life, Love and Faith, Allen Toussaint
  • Lavender Dream - Jackie Lomax Three, Jackie Lomax
  • Eagle Rock - Daddy Who? Daddy Cool, Daddy Cool
  • Memphis - A Nod's As Good As A Wink. . . To A Blind Horse, The Faces
  • Nena - Malo, Malo
  • Show Me a Smile - Future Games, Fleetwood Mac
  • Be My Lover - Killer, Alice Cooper
  • Bang a Gong (Get It On) - Electric Warrior, T Rex
  • Click Clack - The Spotlight Kid, Captain Beefheart
  • Biology II - Halfnelson, Halfnelson
  • Sudan Village - Year Of Sunday, Seals and Croft
  • A Long Time, A Long Way to Go - Runt The Ballad Of Todd Rundgren, Todd Rundgren
  • Sandman - America, America
  • William Tell Overture - A Clockwork Orange Soundtrack, Walter Carlos
  • Mad! - Sesame Street 2
  • Money Honey - Into The Purple Valley, Ry Cooder
  • Big Road - Bonnie Raitt, Bonnie Raitt
  • Bluegreens - Breakaway, William Truckaway
  • Howdido - A Tribute To Woody Guthrie Part II, Ramblin' Jack Elliott
  • Simple Joys - Clever Dogs Chase The Sun, Kenny Young
Sweet Dream by Jethro Tull was previously released only as the b-side of a single.

Ukulele Lady by Arlo Guthrie was from an album in progress and had not been previously released.

Sgt Preston of the Yukon was previously unreleased radio spot

Manhattan Merry-Go-Round, Inner Sanctum and The Lone Ranger were released on Themes Like Old Times, Various Artists

Buy from

album cover