tracks / musicians related releases

The Oxford American Sampler CD 1999

Various Artists

Initial release : 1999

Oxford American Magazine

This sampler CD, distributed with the annual 'music issue' of the Oxford American magazine in 1999, includes a track by Bob Dylan.


  • Nobody Better Than Us - Leadbelly
  • Oxford Town - Bob Dylan
  • Make A Little Love - Alex Chilton
  • Don't Tell Your Mama, Don't Tell Your Papa - Beau Jocque
  • Shake Your Hips - Lou Ann Barton
  • Georgia On A Fast Train - Billy Joe Shaver
  • Do Right Woman, Do Right Man - Flying Burrito Brothers
  • Breakfast In Bed - Dusty Springfield
  • Turn On Your Lovelight - Bobby Blue Bland
  • Chief Sitting In The Rain - Mark O'conner, Yo - Yo Ma, Edgar Meyer,
  • Last Kind Words Blues - Geechie Wiley
  • Ain't Leavin' Your Love - Townes Van Zandt
  • Swanee River Rock - Red Tops
  • Matchbox - Ike Turner
  • Doctor Jazz - Jelly Roll Morton
  • The Back Door - D.L. Menard
  • Sins Of Memphisto - John Prine
  • Ninety - Nine And A Half - Dorothy Love Coates
  • Locomotive - Terri Binion
  • I Want A Little Sugar In My Bowl - Nina Simone
  • Do Your Own Thing - Isaac Hayes
  • The L&N Don't Stop Here Anymore - June Carter Cash
  • Badass With A Heart Of Gold - Jason Morphew
  • Shine On Harvest Moon - Laurel And Hardy
  • Somewhere Over The Rainbow - Jerry Lee Lewis
album cover

album cover

The 1999 music issue of Oxford American included an article about Bob Dylan's Mississippi. Other articles discussed Dusty Springfield, Ike Turner, Isaac Hayes, Bobby Bland and John Prine.

Related releases

Oxford Town was originally released on;