tracks musicians

Rock of Ages / Rock of Ages (2001 Deluxe Edition)

The Band

Initial release : 1972 / 2001


A double LP live album recorded on Dec 31, 1971. A remastered and expanded deluxe version was released in 2001 with the original double LP content on one CD and a further 10 tracks on a second CD. Four of the tracks on this bonus disc are performed by Bob Dylan with The Band.


Original double LP and first CD of deluxe edition;

  • Introduction
  • Don't Do It (Dozier/Holland/Holland)
  • King Harvest (Has Surely Come) (Robertson)
  • Caledonia Mission (Robertson)
  • Get up Jake (Robertson)
  • The W.S. Walcott Medicine Show (Robertson)
  • Stage Fright (Robertson)
  • The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down (Robertson)
  • Across the Great Divide (Robertson)
  • This Wheel's on Fire (Danko/Dylan)
  • Rag Mama Rag (Robertson)
  • The Weight (Robertson)
  • The Shape I'm In (Robertson)
  • Unfaithful Servant (Robertson)
  • Life Is a Carnival (Danko/Helm/Robertson)
  • The Genetic Method (Hudson/Robertson)
  • Chest Fever (Robertson)
  • (I Don't Want To) Hang Up My Rock and Roll Shoes (Willis)
Second CD of deluxe version;
  • Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever (Hunter/Wonder)
  • I Shall Be Released (Dylan)
  • Up on Cripple Creek (Robertson)
  • The Rumor (Robertson)
  • Rockin' Chair (Robertson)
  • Time to Kill (Robertson)
  • Down in the Flood (Dylan)
  • When I Paint My Masterpiece (Dylan)
  • Don't Ya Tell Henry (Dylan)
  • Like a Rolling Stone (Dylan)

Musicians include;

  • Rick Danko - bass, violin, vocals
  • Levon Helm - guitar, mandolin, drums, vocals
  • Garth Hudson - keyboards, saxophone
  • Richard Manuel - keyboards, drums, vocals
  • Robbie Robertson - guitar, vocals
  • Bob Dylan - guitar, vocals (on Down in the Flood, When I Paint My Masterpiece, Don't Ya Tell Henry and Like a Rolling Stone)
  • Allen Toussaint - conductor, arranger
Buy deluxe ed. from

album cover