Ballad Legacy: The Alan Lomax Portait Series

Texas Gladden

Initial release : 2001


Recordings made between 1938 and 1959. John Cohen edited the contents of this collection and wrote the liner notes.


  • The Devil and the Farmer's Wife
  • One Morning in May
  • Mental Pictures (Interview)
  • Mary Hamilton
  • Kind Sir, I See You've Come Again
  • The Devil's Nine Questions
  • I'm Never to Marry (The Girl That I Hated)
  • My Mother (Interview)
  • Rose Connelly
  • Been Too Busy Raising Babies (Interview)
  • Hush Baby, Don't You Cry
  • The Three Babies
  • Old Time Love
  • Barbara Allen
  • Lord Thomas
  • Two Brothers (Interview)
  • The Two Brothers
  • Old Kimball
  • The Scolding Wife
  • My Lovin' Old Husband
  • The House Carpenter
  • Gypsy Davy
  • Poor Ellen Smith
  • Songs and Singing (Interview)
  • Ghost Story
  • I Am a Man of Honor
  • Roving Cowboy
  • Dark Island
  • Wreck of the Old '97
  • Always Been a Rambler
  • Wild and Reckless Hobo
  • Once I Knew a Pretty Fair Miss
  • Love's Worse Than Sickness
  • In the Shadow of the Pines
  • Dark Scenes of Winter
  • Cold Mountains
  • Devil and The Farmer's Wife
Buy from

album cover