Dark Was the Night: The Essential Recordings of

Blind Willie Johnson

Initial release : 1997


A single CD collection.


  • Let Your Light Shine on Me
  • God Don't Never Change
  • Lord, I Just Can't Keep from Crying
  • Keep Your Lamp Trimmed and Burning
  • Dark Was the Night (Cold Was the Ground)
  • Nobody's Fault But Mine
  • I Know His Blood Can Make Me Whole
  • Mother's Children Have a Hard Time
  • Jesus Make up My Dying Bed
  • If I Had My Way I'd Tear the Building Down
  • Jesus Is Coming Soon
  • Bye and Bye I'm Goin' to See the King
  • God Moves on the Water
  • You're Gonna Need Somebody on Your Bond
  • Praise God I'm Satisfied
  • When the War Was On
  • Take Your Burden to the Lord and Leave It There
  • Everybody Ought to Treat a Stranger Right
  • Soul of a Man
  • John the Revelator
  • Trouble Will Soon Be Over
  • Church, I'm Fully Saved Today
Buy from

album cover