If I Had My Way: Early Home Recordings

Reverend Gary Davis

Initial release : 2003

Smithsonian Folkways

Recordings made by John Cohen in 1953.


  • If I Had My Way
  • If the Lord Be for You
  • Twelve Gates to the City
  • You Got to Move
  • We Are the Heavenly Father's Children
  • A Friend Like Lonely Jesus
  • Get Right Church
  • Marine Band
  • Shine On Me
  • There's Destruction on This Land
  • He Stole Away
  • The Uncloudy Day
  • Say No to the Devil
  • I Belong to the Band
  • Give Me a Heart to Love
  • He Never Has Left Me Alone
  • Got On My Traveling Shoes
  • Civil War Parade

  • Producer, engineer - John Cohen
  • Mastering - Pete Reiniger
  • Liner Notes - John Cohen, Horace Boyer
  • Photography - John Cohen
  • Design - Visual Dialogue
Buy from

album cover