tracks musicians credits related releases

Jug Band Music & Rags of the South

The Even Dozen Jug Band

Initial release : 1978

Everest FS-339

This LP is a re-release of the majority of tracks from the original Even Dozen Jug Band LP. David Grisman plays on the majority of tracks.


  • All Worn Out (Traditional)
  • Come On In (Traditional)
  • The Even Dozens (Rifkin/Davis)
  • Evolution Mama (Traditional)
  • France Blues (Traditional)
  • I Don't Love Nobody (Traditional)
  • Mandolin King Rag (Traditional)
  • Original Colossal Drag Rag (Rifkin)
  • Rag Mama (Traditional)
  • Sadie Green (Traditional)
Four tracks that were included on the original Even Dozen Jug Band LP were
not included on this LP. These tracks are Take Your Fingers Off It, Overseas Stomp, On The Road Again and Lonely One In This Town.


  • Maria D'Amato (Maria Muldaur)- vocals
  • Frank Goodkin - banjo
  • David Grisman - mandolin
  • Stefan Grossman - guitar, banjo, vocals
  • Bob Gurland - trumpet, vocals
  • Peggy Haines - jug
  • Pete Jacobson - guitar, banjo, vocals
  • Steve Katz - washboard, vocals
  • Danny Lauffer - jug
  • Joshua Rifkin - piano, kazoo, vocals
  • John Benton (John Sebastian) - harp, kazoo
  • Peter Siegel - banjo, guitar, vocals
  • Fred Weisz - fiddle

  • Original producer - Paul A. Rothchild, Jac Holzman
Related releases

These tracks were originally released on;

Buy from

album cover