tracks musicians credits

Nashville at Newport

Various Artists

Initial release : 1995

Vangard 77016

A compilation of music by 'country' musicians recorded at the Newport Folk Festival between 1963 and 1968. David Grisman performs with Hazel and Alice.

Buy from

album cover


  • The Battle of New Orleans
  • Cannonball Blues (Solid Gone)
  • Muleskinner Blues
  • Walking in My Sleep
  • A Tiny Broken Heart
  • The One I Love Is Gone
  • Late Last Night
  • Milk 'Em in the Evening Blues
  • Pig in the Pen
  • Hell Among the Yearlings
  • Blue Smoke
  • Everly Rag
  • Step It up and Go
  • Bass Fiddle Rag
  • Nellie Gray
  • Dirty Guitar Blues
  • Wabash Cannonball
  • Cannonball Rag
  • Fox Chase Medley
  • I Wash My Hands in Muddy Water
  • Dixie Breakdown
  • Steel Guitar Chimes
  • Introduction
  • Big River
  • Folsom Prison Blues
  • I Still Miss Someone
  • Rock Island Line
  • Don't Think Twice
  • I Walk the Line
  • Ira Hayes
  • Keep on the Sunny Side

The performers on the tracks of this compilation are as follows.

The Battle of New Orleans;

  • Jimmie Driftwood - guitar, vocals
Cannonball Blues (Solid Gone) ;
  • Maybelle Carter - guitar, vocals
Muleskinner Blues;
  • Ramblin' Jack Elliott - guitar, vocals
Walking in My Sleep, A Tiny Broken Heart and The One I Love Is Gone;
  • Hazel Dickens - bass, vocals
  • Alice Foster Gerrard - guitar, vocals
  • David Grisman - mandolin
  • Smiley Hobbs - banjo
  • Tex Logan - fiddle
Late Last Night, Milk 'Em in the Evening Blues, Pig in the Pen and Hell Among the Yearlings;
  • Arthur Smith - fiddle
  • Sam McGee - guitar, vocals
  • Kirk McGee - banjo, vocals
Blue Smoke, Everly Rag, Step It up and Go, Bass Fiddle Rag, Nellie Gray and Dirty Guitar Blues;
  • Ike Everly - guitar, vocals
  • Don Everly - guitar
Wabash Cannonball, Cannonball Rag, Fox Chase Medley, I Wash My Hands in Muddy Water, Dixie Breakdown and Steel Guitar Chimes;
  • Roy Acuff & His Smoky Mountain Boys
  • Roy Acuff - fiddle, vocals
  • Bashful Brother Oswald - dobro
  • Charlie Collins - acoustic guitar
  • Roy Neal Acuff - guitar, vocals
  • Larry McNeely - banjo
  • Jimmie Riddle - piano, harmonica
  • Jackie Phelps - electric guitar
Big River, Folsom Prison Blues, I Still Miss Someone, Rock Island Line, Don't Think Twice, I Walk the Line, Ira Hayes and Keep on the Sunny Side;
  • Johnny Cash - guitar, vocals
  • Luther Perkins - electric guitar
  • Marshall Grant - bass

  • Compilation producer and annotater - Mary Katherine Aldin
  • Mixed and engineered for release - Jeff Zaraya
  • Executive producer - Kent Crawford
  • Cover photos - Brian Smith, Opryland Music Group, Joe Alper, John Cooke
  • Package design - Unicorn Publishing Services
  • Creative Services - Georgette Cartwright
  • Special thanks - Alice Foster Gerrard, Jeffrey Hersh, Chris Hillman, Mark Humphrey, Bonnie Raitt, Mike Seeger, Dave Stewart, Peter Yarrow
  • Recorded at the 1963-1968 Newport Folk Festivals, Newport, RI