tracks/musicians related releases

Swingin' Jazz for Hipsters, Vol. 2

Various Artists

Initial release : 1997

Concord Jazz 4792

David Grisman plays, with the Frank Vignola Trio, on one track of this compilation.


The tracks on this compilation are;

  • Bemsha Swing - Jim Hall Quartet
  • Mr. Gentle and Mr. Cool - Ken Peplowski Quintet
  • Frenesi - Charlie Byrd Quintet
  • Tossed Salad and Scrambled Eggs - Gary Burton & Friends
  • Tico-Tico - Frank Vignola Trio
  • Dave's Haze - Heath Brothers
  • Age of Aquarius - Brother Jack McDuff and Chris Potter
  • Gone - Gerry Mulligan/Scott Hamilton
  • Heat Wave - Cal Tjader and Carmen McRae
  • Look of Love - Scott Hamilton
  • Fly Me to the Moon - Monty Alexander
  • I'm Hip - Mel Torme and George Shearing
Tico Tico is taken from the Frank Vignola Trio release, Let It Happen. The musicians on that album are;
  • Frank Vignola - guitar
  • Joe Ascione - percussion, bongos, drums
  • John Goldsby - bass
  • David Grisman - mandolin
  • Arnie Lawrence - saxophone
  • Ken Peplowski - clarinet
Related releases

Tico Tico was originally released on;

This Swingin' Jazz for Hipsters release was one of a two CD series. The other CD of the pair was;
  • Swingin' Jazz for Hipsters, Vol. 1, Various Artists, 1997, Concord 4791
Buy from

album cover