Thar She Blows!:Whaling Ballads and Songs

A.L. Lloyd and Ewan MacColl

Initial release : 1957


Also released as Whaling Ballads in the 1960's.


  • Sperm Whale Fishery
  • Blood Red Roses
  • Farewell to Tarwathie
  • The Eclipse
  • The Cold Coast of Greenland
  • The Twenty-Third of March
  • The Coast of Peru
  • We'll Rant and We'll Roar
  • Reuben Ranzo
  • The Bonny Ship the Diamond
  • The Cruel Ship's Captain
  • Off to Sea Once More
  • Heave Away, My Johnny
  • Paddy and the Whale
  • Greenland Bound

  • Ewan MacColl - vocals
  • A.L. Lloyd - vocals
  • Peggy Seeger - banjo, guitar
  • John Cole - harmonica
Buy from

album cover

Buy from

album cover