tracks musicians credits related releases

The Amazing Charlatans

The Charlatans

Initial release : 1996

Big Beat 138

Archive release of all of The Charlatans early studio recordings.

Buy from

album cover


  • Codine Blues (Sainte-Marie)
  • Alabama Bound (Traditional)
  • I Always Wanted A Girl Like You (Hunter/Olsen)
  • I Saw Her (Traditional)
  • How Can I Miss You When You Won't Go Away? (Hicks)
  • 32-20 Blues (Johnson)
  • We're Not On The Same Trip (Hicks)
  • Walkin' (Hunter/Olsen)
  • Sweet Sue, Just You (Harris/Young)
  • East Virginia (Traditional)
  • The Shadow Knows (Leiber/Stoller)
  • I Got Mine (Hicks)
  • Steppin' In Society (Akst/Gerber)
  • Devil Got My Man (James)
  • By Hook Or By Crook (Hicks)
  • 'Long Come A Viper (Hicks)
  • Sidetrack (Traditional)
  • Alabama Bound [Kama Sutra Version] (Traditional)
  • Number One (Wilhelm)
  • Baby Won't You Tell Me (Hammond)
  • Jack Of Diamonds (Traditional)
  • Blues Ain't Nothin' (Wilhelm)
  • Groom N' Clean Ad

  • George Hunter - autoharp, tambourine, vocals
  • Mike Wilhelm - guitar, vocals
  • Richard Olsen - bass, vocals
  • Mike Ferguson - piano
  • Dan Hicks - drums

  • Compilation producer, liner notes - Alec Palao
  • Post production - Nick Robbins at Sound Mastering Ltd
  • Tracks transferred from original analog master tapes except for tracks 14 to 18 and track 22 which have been dubbed from acetate
  • Package design - Philip Lloyd-Smee at Waldo's Design & Dream Emporium
  • Photography - Herbert Greene
  • Other photos coutesy of George Hunter
  • Extra visual material loaned by Andrew Lauder
  • Special thanks to Herb Greene for graciously opening his files and lending support to this project
Related releases

This CD officially collects together The Charlatans early studio recordings for the first time.

Tracks 19 to 22 (Number One, Baby Won't You Tell Me, Jack of Diamonds, Blues Ain't Nothin') are previously are demos recorded for Autumn Records at Coast Recorders, San Francisco in Autumn 1965.

Tracks 1, 4, 6, 11, 14 to 18 (Codine Blues, I Saw Her, 32-20 Blues, The Shadow Knows, Devil's Got My Man, Hook or by Crook, 'Long Come a Viper, Sidetrack, Alabama Bound) were recorded for Kama Sutra Records at Coast Recorders, San Francisco in early 1966.

Tracks 2, 3, 5, 7, 8 and 9 (Alabama Bound, I Always Wanted A Girl Like You, How Can I Miss You When You Won't Go Away?, We're Not on the Same Trip, Walkin', Sweet Sue, Just You) are demos recorded at Golden State Recorders, San Francisco in July 1967.

Tracks 10, 12 and 13 (East Virginia, I Got Mine, Steppin' in Society) were recorded at Pacific High Recorders, Sausalito in early 1968.

Track 23, the Groom N' Clean Ad., is an ad for a hair preparation recorded at Golden State Recorders, San Francisco in Novemeber 1966.

Only two of the tracks on this collection were were released during the existence of the band;

  • The Shadow Knows / 32-20, The Charlatans, 1966, 7" single, Kapp / Kama Sutra